We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Apple Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Apple Inn
Ranked #85 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have just left this hotel today and couldn't fault this one bit. Slightly out of the main hussle but that's exactly what we wanted there is a tram stop 2 mins walk away and it's really easy to find, we did walk into the main centre a couple of times which is a pleasant walk. The staff are lovely and really helpful. The lady on reception recommended a place for us to eat when we arrived and we had a beautiful meal. We had a room right at the front of the hotel and there was no noise from traffic or passing trams etc. rooms are a good size for Amsterdam and spotlessly clean- the bathroom is brilliant I only wish I had that shower at home.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skicrazyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    191
    55
    11
    5
See reviews for
87
179
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

A group of us stayed here in November.

Rooms were really clean and cleaned daily with fresh towels.

Staff were really nice and helpful.

Couldn't fault this hotel for anything apart from it didn't have a lift to get to the top floor with suitcases but oh well. we all have legs...

It was further out than I've stayed in Amsterdam before but there was a tram stop close by (number 2 tram) which takes you directly to all the main squares.. it took about 15 minutes from the Apple Inn to Leidseplein.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emj1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights in late' November after a lot of research.
The staff were great, they welcomed us and printed us a map, recommended places nearby, and let us use a computer. (They also helped us print a route for the way home after the Satnav did not use the same road names as the road signs!). The room wasn't massive but nicely decorated and had a great shower, everything we needed for our city break. We were ground floor at the back.
The location was nice and quiet, and right on the tram line and right by Vondelpark which was nice to walk through to the main city. Few restaurants/cafes nearby too and in the park.
We drove on our to Amsterdam and parked in the world shopping centre carpark which has a deal where its only 16 Euro for 24 hours and you get a free tram ticket (which you must use to get the special rate) so it was just a few stops along the tram to Apple. We only used the tram twice, both ways between the hotel and carpark and this got us the deal - bargain!
The Christmas market was on when we went as well which was a treat - mulled wine with amaretto or jagermeister!

The quality and staff of the hotel makes up for it being a little out of the way. We should have got the tram more as the walking into the city then around it wore us out - so much to see :-)
P.s. watch out for bikes!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgewina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I had been planning a weekend away to Amsterdam for me and my girlfried for a while, and after using sites like expedia, I was finding the search results being quite costly (£600)

Browsing groupon one day i came across an offer of 3nights £125pp at this hotel (inc flights). we immediately booked a December weekend away. after reading the reviews and checking the pictures I really wasn't sure what to expect in terms of the hotel and its location etc, however I really was pleasantly surprised.

really cant fault this place. although its no 5* Hilton, its a cracking 3-4* for what you pay and really is great value for your money.

we arrived at the airport and debated whether to get the train to central station then jump on the tram to the hotel ( I was informed of this info after emailing the hotel) or visit he shuttle desk at the airport. We went for he shuttle. It was 25 euro for a return ticket pp. the shuttle dropped us right at the door and picked us up right on time for our return journey. train tickets are 6 euro and 7.50 for a 24 hour tram pass, so getting the shuttle is probably a lot less hassle, quicker and the same cost.

we arrived at 10am, we were allowed to check in straight away and were shown to our rooms, which was great as we were shattered from a 6am flight.
The room itself was small but it was very cosy but we were expecting that. it was nice and modern, had a flat screen tv with a few English channels. shower was nice. only downside was there was no kettle or complimentary coffee and tea. Also the walls are quite thin so you do hear the odd bang or singing in the shower. and I did book a double bed however we were given two singles pushed together. this wasn't really a big deal for us and im sure the hotel would have swapped if we had requested but we were that tired we didn't care.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. answered all our questions and provided a great service. bar was nice, had a game of cards whilst having a few drinks.

In terms of location, the hotel is right next to a tram stop so its easy to get to the centre town, however if your like me and don't mind exploring the sites, is about a 20minute walk (in a straight line) to the outskirts of the centre. we took a de tour trough vondelpark and had a lovely stroll. really do recommend the walk

all in all we thought the hotel was great value for money, in a great location and we would recommend it to any one thinking of visiting and we would return again if we ever went back to Amsterdam.

only thing is easy jet. don't fly with them. they suck.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Me and my husband had 3-night stay in Amsterdam , and we stayed at Apple Inn hotel . We loved it. The hotel property itself is quite good. The hotel has old-school grand charm, the rooms are good and big, the bathrooms are fantastic, the WiFi is reliable and speedy, and the bar is an amazing place to get a drink or two and hang out. What puts them up at 5 stars, however, was the staff. The staff at the front desk was incredibly helpful. They always had time for us and they were friendly and polite, they gave me countless reliable opinions on restaurants and sights to see.
There was one thing with mattresses - I don't know where they got them , but they are amazing , I haven't sleep so well since ... never !!!
Definitely we will come back here :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnastasiaLyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was our first time in Amsterdam. We really loved the location, quiet and nice. The hotel is fine and it was convenient both for walking and for accessing to public transportation. Very nice beds and matresses. Some rooms were too small, but our request to change a room was immediately met. I would improve the breakfast variety and the service at the breakfast, although the coffee is very good. The staff is very nice and helpful. Thanks to them for their help. The hotel has a special agreement with a transfer company which was very convenient as well and not pricey, and very well organised. The only minus is the stairs, without an elevator, and elderly people or people who have problems with their legs, or have heavy luggage, would have problems.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elenka_Zhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Great little hotel, very clean, rooms nice and modern. Recently refurbished. Staff very helpful. Good location on no 2 tram route, although we never used it and chose to walk into central Amsterdam. Near museum quarter. Can use the pc in reception for printing out your own boarding passes, saved time at airport. Did not eat there so not sure what food is like, nice little bakery around the corner, also mini supermarket nearby. Would stay there again :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Scraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#89 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#92 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#116 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#99 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apple Inn

Property: Hotel Apple Inn
Address: Koninginneweg 93, 1075 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Apple Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Apple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apple Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing