We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
Ranked #52 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Ok, not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

Aalders hotel is ok, but not as great as one might think reading the other reviews. The location is excellent, very quiet, close to museums and luxury shopping, and about 20-30 minutes on foot from the centre through a beautiful park (or less than10 minutes by taxi or tram, tram stop nearby). The rooms with a garden view are totally quiet. The beds are ok, but not great. Bathrooms are tiny but sufficient. Some of the furniture is quite cheap which is a pity given the beauty of the building - e.g. the design of the chairs in the main breakfeast room is appalling. The hotel is very clean. Breakfast is bad - not varied, the quality of the food is inferior. Very good and personalized service.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainerMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    587
    95
    19
    17
See reviews for
361
406
143
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

We have been living outside Amsterdam for four months, since February, and traveling into the city regularly. We discovered the Aalders on our second visit, and it became our hotel of choice thereafter.It is ideally located for our purposes, the rooms were clean, comfortable, and well-priced, and the staff (with a special nod to Rick) invariably welcoming ,cheerful, and extremely helpful. We look forward to returning to Amsterdam and the Aalders, when the renovations to the Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum are complete.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Temple84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

A quiet hotel behind the Rijksmuseum. Warm welcome and the lady at the desk greeted me BY NAME before i introduced myself! It was no trouble to wheel my bike through the hotel into the garden and it was safe there during my stay of 3 nights. Lovely breakfast and very friendly staff. I would LOVE to stay here again and recommend it thoroughly.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

My aunt and I stayed at Hotel Aalders for 4 nights, in 2 of the small single rooms. We both thought the rooms were large enough, very clean with private baths and TVs. Mine overlooked the quiet street and hers opened onto a lovely garden. All the staff were extremely helpful and kind. It was wonderful that we could check in early after a long flight. The breakfast room is very nice and the included breakfast is good. Very convenient to the museums and tram lines and not too far from large supermarket, park, and canal boat rides. This was the complete opposite of a stuffy, business hotel. We both felt so comfortable there and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancymcardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

I was recently a displaced person in Europe trying to get home as a result of the Icelandic volcano in 2010. Not knowing if the airspace would open for my connecting flight, I took the train to Amsterdam and stayed at this lovely hotel. Never having been to Amsterdam, but having travelled Europe, this was the best hotel I've stayed at so far made even better by family hospitality . The rooms are not spartan, but funtional with lots of character. My small single opened up into the yard which was in bloom with tulips and magnolia trees. While there was not an iron in room (typical Europe, why?), I got to iron in the kitchen while the owners made pastry for the day. . Add to these great experiences a fantastic location in the museum district on a quiet side street - not quiet as in boring, but quiet as in away from tram tracks and traffic. i would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNKsci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

We will recommend Aalders to family and friends for the following reasons:

Well-situated: Quiet street. 1 block to the Van Gogh Museum, 2 to the Rijksmuseum. Around the corner from designer shopping. Easy access to city centre on foot or by tram.

Clean hotel and room.

Breakfast included was "continental plus": Hardboiled eggs, cold cut meats, cheese, breads and pastries, cereals, yogurt, fruit, juice, hot beverages.

Amenities: Free internet access from the lounge and via wi-fi. Elevator.

Helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneyingWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

Very well situated for Art Galleries and (if you can afford them) designer shops. Disappointing that the Stadelijke Gallery is still closed but that's not the fault of the hotel! Close to excellent transport links into the city centre, and good restaurants nearby. Try the Sama Sebo (just around the corner) for excellent Indonesian food, but you may need to book

Staff at the hotel very friendly and helpful. Our room was small but nicely carpeted and beds were comfortable and there was good linen. (extra pillow would have been nice). As with a most continental hotels, there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but hot drinks could be bought and taken up to our room. (we keep saying that we must bring our travel kettle, teabags and coffee when we go abroad, as we take these for granted in English hotels).

A good breakfast with lovely views of the garden at the back of the breakfast room was welcome each day, as was the British TV news!

Overall, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bladeandahalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#14 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#87 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#124 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#41 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Property: Hotel Aalders
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by three generations of the Aalders Family since 1955, the Hotel Aalders is a charming establishment with a 3 star rating, located on a quiet, residential street. Ideally situated in the cultural centre of Amsterdam, the comfort and hospitality of Hotel Aalders can be found just a few minutes from the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum and the astonishing historic city centre. We are delighted to welcome you and will make sure that you enjoy your stay and feel at home. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing