We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Friendly and kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
Ranked #45 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly and kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

A quiet hotel behind the Rijksmuseum. Warm welcome and the lady at the desk greeted me BY NAME before i introduced myself! It was no trouble to wheel my bike through the hotel into the garden and it was safe there during my stay of 3 nights. Lovely breakfast and very friendly staff. I would LOVE to stay here again and recommend it thoroughly.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    536
    85
    18
    15
See reviews for
331
360
127
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

My aunt and I stayed at Hotel Aalders for 4 nights, in 2 of the small single rooms. We both thought the rooms were large enough, very clean with private baths and TVs. Mine overlooked the quiet street and hers opened onto a lovely garden. All the staff were extremely helpful and kind. It was wonderful that we could check in early after a long flight. The breakfast room is very nice and the included breakfast is good. Very convenient to the museums and tram lines and not too far from large supermarket, park, and canal boat rides. This was the complete opposite of a stuffy, business hotel. We both felt so comfortable there and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancymcardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

I was recently a displaced person in Europe trying to get home as a result of the Icelandic volcano in 2010. Not knowing if the airspace would open for my connecting flight, I took the train to Amsterdam and stayed at this lovely hotel. Never having been to Amsterdam, but having travelled Europe, this was the best hotel I've stayed at so far made even better by family hospitality . The rooms are not spartan, but funtional with lots of character. My small single opened up into the yard which was in bloom with tulips and magnolia trees. While there was not an iron in room (typical Europe, why?), I got to iron in the kitchen while the owners made pastry for the day. . Add to these great experiences a fantastic location in the museum district on a quiet side street - not quiet as in boring, but quiet as in away from tram tracks and traffic. i would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GNKsci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

We will recommend Aalders to family and friends for the following reasons:

Well-situated: Quiet street. 1 block to the Van Gogh Museum, 2 to the Rijksmuseum. Around the corner from designer shopping. Easy access to city centre on foot or by tram.

Clean hotel and room.

Breakfast included was "continental plus": Hardboiled eggs, cold cut meats, cheese, breads and pastries, cereals, yogurt, fruit, juice, hot beverages.

Amenities: Free internet access from the lounge and via wi-fi. Elevator.

Helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneyingWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Very well situated for Art Galleries and (if you can afford them) designer shops. Disappointing that the Stadelijke Gallery is still closed but that's not the fault of the hotel! Close to excellent transport links into the city centre, and good restaurants nearby. Try the Sama Sebo (just around the corner) for excellent Indonesian food, but you may need to book

Staff at the hotel very friendly and helpful. Our room was small but nicely carpeted and beds were comfortable and there was good linen. (extra pillow would have been nice). As with a most continental hotels, there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but hot drinks could be bought and taken up to our room. (we keep saying that we must bring our travel kettle, teabags and coffee when we go abroad, as we take these for granted in English hotels).

A good breakfast with lovely views of the garden at the back of the breakfast room was welcome each day, as was the British TV news!

Overall, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bladeandahalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Amsterdam is actually nice for a family with teenagers, and museums (don't miss the Diamond, Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum), shopping district and public swimming pool (!) are all 2 minutes away. Tropenmuseum and Nemo are great for families as well.

The hotel was nice - a bit oldfashioned, showers and beds quite good. We would have preferred two rooms for us and the kids, but there was no other hotel in Amsterdam offering a family suite! The breakfast room urgently needs new tapestry but the magnolia and the free-living green parrots outside are a great view.

We were served a private breakfast on the early morning of our departure at the bar - very nice, thanks! And thanks to the nice staff that served us breakfast every day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dasitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

Hotel Aalders was a pleasent exsperience.
The location was perfect - only a few minutes to go to the city center. The room was clean and comfortable.Quiet location.
The staff service was excellent. The last night one in our family got ill and needed contact with an doctor - the staff on the hotel were extremely helpfull.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eire1Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#70 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
377 House - Amsterdam
#64 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#12 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,645 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#51 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Property: Hotel Aalders
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by three generations of the Aalders Family since 1955, the Hotel Aalders is a charming establishment with a 3 star rating, located on a quiet, residential street. Ideally situated in the cultural centre of Amsterdam, the comfort and hospitality of Hotel Aalders can be found just a few minutes from the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum and the astonishing historic city centre. We are delighted to welcome you and will make sure that you enjoy your stay and feel at home. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing