We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent location for Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
Ranked #48 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location for Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We would definitely recommend this hotel! Room 20 is spacious with a really good size bathroom and has patio doors opening out onto pretty private garden. Staff are particularly helpful and friendly. Having a good continental breakfast included is a bonus.Bus 197 from Schipol takes about 30 mins, costs €5 and then only a 2 min walk to the hotel. Museums very quiet if you go for opening time and only a 2 min walk.

Room Tip: Room 20,ground floor,spacious with access to private garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    553
    88
    18
    15
See reviews for
341
367
135
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had a very pleasant weekend at Hotel Aalders. Excellent location on a quiet street, yet very near to major attractions (Museumplein and Vondelpark). The staff is very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. The hotel is very clean and cosy. Our room was great, with a nice view to the rear garden. Good, new bicycles are available to guests for rent at a reasonable price. Prior to our check-out, we were offered a very early breakfast, which was very convenient because our taxi to the airport picked us up at 5:00 AM. I will definitely return to Hotel Aalders.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CattleDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Excellent location, I felt really safe walking around as a single female. Staff was very helpful especially Rowena ! Some of the brochures in the lobby were outdated so I was not able to get the advertised discount.
I had a double room which was perfect for one person. I think it would be a tight fit for 2 people, due to space for the luggage, and also the bathroom was tiny. Shower was a good size but the rest of the bathroom would be small for 2 people to share.
The free wi if is an excellent perk ! Breakfast was quite decent.
Very accurately described on its website and definitely good value for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaTravelGirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very good place to stay for us-we had a 2 double bed family room for two grown-ups and two older children-large room, friendly, quiet and clean. Waterboiler for tea was helpful. Bathroom was small, but o.k. Museums are close , just a few minutes' walk, and also tram station was nearby. Staff very friendly and helpful. We liked the breakfast which included also fresh fruits. Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marimori2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nogent-sur-Marne, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

It was my second stay here and it was great. Especially the room (the photos)! Look at my first review, everything is still accurate. The Rijksmuseum nearby (less than 5 minutes walk) has reopened its doors and there's a lot to see. A great hotel that I really recommend to everyone!

Second séjour dans cet hôtel et toujours aussi satisfaite. De la chambre en particulier (cf. photos)! Voir ma première critique qui est toujours d'actualité. Le Rijksmuseum, plus grand musée d'Amsterdam à moins de 5 minutes à pied, a rouvert ses portes et il y a plein de choses à voir. Un très bon hôtel avec un excellent rapport qualité-prix que je recommande à tous!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
177 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The location could hardly be better for visiting the major galleries of the city. The staff were friendly and helpful, and rooms were clean and in good condition. Our particular room was on the small side, though, and an upgrade would have cost an extra 25 euros per night. Breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: The small twin is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosamunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed here with a friend for 3 nights and we really recommend this hotel. The staff were an absolute delight - friendly and helpful. The rooms are just what you need - clean and warm. There wasn't a fridge in our room though so do check beforehand if that's important to you. It's about a 2 minute walk to the Rijks Museum and even closer to a tram stop where 2 trams will take you to the city centre/station in less than 15 minutes. It's wonderfully quiet so we slept very well. If we come to Amsterdam again, we'll definitely stay here. A great place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#78 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#56 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Property: Hotel Aalders
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by three generations of the Aalders Family since 1955, the Hotel Aalders is a charming establishment with a 3 star rating, located on a quiet, residential street. Ideally situated in the cultural centre of Amsterdam, the comfort and hospitality of Hotel Aalders can be found just a few minutes from the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum and the astonishing historic city centre. We are delighted to welcome you and will make sure that you enjoy your stay and feel at home. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing