We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a luxury but worth the price”
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
Ranked #51 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Espoo, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not a luxury but worth the price”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed long weekend with my wife in November. This is not a luxury hotel but worth of the price and cosy hotel. The street is quiet but still the hotel is with good location. Very close to the museums and easy to reach from the airport with bus 197. The platform at Schiphol airport for the bus 197 is next platform after taxi. Leave the bus in the van Gogh museum and from there it is only 100-150 meters walk. So there no point to use the train. When we arrived we took a taxi which cost appr. 40 eur. But on our way back to the airport we used the bus.
One nice restaurant near by the hotel is Pompa (Willemsparkweg 6).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    603
    99
    19
    19
See reviews for
374
420
153
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Coming back from Asia, hotel Aalders seemed luxurious, even though we had a small double room; the room overlooked the street but was still extremely quiet; bed a bit soft, but this seems standard in Amsterdam. Heating was good, bathroom roomy & spotless. Breakfast plentiful, and very varied, including fresh fruit, cut tomatoes & cucumbers, variety of croissants & bread, cheese, cold cuts, soft boiled eggs. The staff was extremely pleasant & helpful. And the location is brilliant - we took the 197 bus from the airport and from then on visited the city by foot for 3 days. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quebec_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I do not have a single bad thing to say - it was first class from beginning to end. The location is perfect, being practically next door to all the museums but also a short walking distance from the canals, boats, shops, restaurants. We didn't bother with trams but walked the whole area. The room and bed were extremely comfortable and being at the back of the hotel, there was not a sound at night. My cousin was in the front and she said it was equally peaceful, Jan Luijkenstraat not being a through road. We had to get up very early on the last day, too early for the breakfast (which by the way was also outstanding) but no problem - they set up a table of food in the bar so we didn't go without! The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly - as I say - nothing bad to say except I can highly recommend it! Definitely going back sometime soon!

Room Tip: Back rooms could not possibly be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My husband and I had a two day layover in Amsterdam on our way to a safari in tanzania. We have both been to Europe but this was our first time in Amsterdam. Fabulous hotel, great value in a great location. Steps to museums, Heineken experience house of Bols (all great to do if the weather is inclement)...very helpful front of house staff. Nothing fancy but very comfortable and convenient, would return in a heartbeat! Jen & Ryan

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennywsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts, UK
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is only about 150 metres from the bus stop where the 197 bus from the airport stops and is just as close to the Van Gough and Rijksmuseums. We stayed in December and the room was warm, with easily controllable heat. We booked a small double room, which was admittedly quite small, but adequate for the task. The bathroom was good, the staff were very helpful and breakfast was more than adequate. Overall, an excellent base for exploring this unique city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights from 25- 27 Nov 2013.
The good stuff:
-Great location in the museum district (5mins walk to multiple museums), and getting there from the Central Station was easy with the trams (2 or 5).
-Spacious room! By European standards, the room is big even though i booked the small twin room (I stayed in room 11 not sure if they upgraded us for free to the comfort twin)
-Comfortable adjustable heating in room (you can make it really toasty by turning it up to 5, though we eventually settled for 3)
-Spacious toilet
-Elevator available (an important point for European hotels as some simply do not have elevators). My room was on the 4th floor, so I could not imagine walking up the stairs with luggage in tow. The elevator is roomy by European standards too (can accomodate 2 people + luggages and have room to breathe)
-The staff are friendly, helpful, and speak really good English. The reception readily provided maps and circled the points of interests at check-in.
In addition, I fell ill with food poisoning after eating at another establishment in Amsterdam, and they were helpful in providing advice on how to seek medical service. This really helped me out.

Not so good:
-The toilet, while spacious, does not disperse its smell readily (we had to leave the toilet door open each time after use for 20mins), coupled with my bout of food poisoning, I had to use my Eau de toilette to mask the scent.
-The toilet bowl had a really weird shape with slightly poor flushing, and let's just say it makes your stuff seem close-and-personal.

Other than that, on the whole, I had a really great stay, and would come here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Defz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veendam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

It was a great service that we had. The room looks great. The breakfast was lovely. You can enter the hotel 24/7. There is always someone at the reception. The beds are so nice to sleep on. The room is in an old style but in a good shape. If we go again to Amsterdam, there will be a good change that we are going to the same Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#27 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,028 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#82 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,020 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#11 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#114 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,058 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#39 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,061 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#68 of 367 in Amsterdam
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Property: Hotel Aalders
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by three generations of the Aalders Family since 1955, the Hotel Aalders is a charming establishment with a 3 star rating, located on a quiet, residential street. Ideally situated in the cultural centre of Amsterdam, the comfort and hospitality of Hotel Aalders can be found just a few minutes from the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum and the astonishing historic city centre. We are delighted to welcome you and will make sure that you enjoy your stay and feel at home. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing