We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent small hotel close to museums” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
Ranked #45 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent small hotel close to museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Hotel Aalders. We researched places through Tripadvisor and chose this for its proximity to the Rijksmuseum. We were very pleased with our choice. We were on a quiet street but it was a 5 minute walk to the museum and to the tram line that take you to and from the train station and to the bus stop that takes you to and from the airport. Although like many houses in Amsterdam the stairs were steep, there was a lift. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was typical Dutch - rolls, meats, cheeses, cereals and fruit - and on one day, a great lemon cake. The price was reasonable. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the street side on th 1st floor, right beside the breakfast room. It might have been a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alyson_bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    538
    85
    18
    15
See reviews for
331
361
129
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were very happy with Hotel Aalders for our five night stay. The service was efficient and pleasant, breakfast in the characterful dining room was very enjoyable, and our room was warm and comfortable, and had a well-fitted bathroom. The location, on the street beside the Rijksmuseum, is perfect for visits to any of the three major art museums, and the main road at the end has a wide range of shops and restaurants. The canal district and the city centre are only a short walk away, along the attractive Spiegelstraat with its art galleries and antique shops, though the crossing in front of the Rijksmuseum is hectic, with cars, bikes and trams going in all directions.

Room Tip: We were happy to be on the top floor, and the lift is efficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We visited second time this lovely hotel in Amsterdam. If your travelplan includes visiting museums, they are just behind the corner! The area itself is very peaceful. It is easy to take a tram to the citycentre. In walking distance you´ll find lovely market on Albert Cuypstraat in De Pijp. Rooms are comfortable, but be prepaired that room might be quite small ( house is very old so that is understandable). Breakfast includes all you need to start your day.
NOTE! If you are travelling in Amsterdam in October, you should find out if there is Amsterdammarathon on that weekend. Especially if you are leaving on sunday it may cause dufficulties to reach airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaJuVantaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Nice and quiete hotel with exellente location near the most important museums.
The room were we stayd we're not very big but very confortable to stay like we did for 4 nights
The breakfast was very good.
Great price value

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brucorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basking ridge, nj
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

One or two blocks from 3 great museums, especially Van Gogh. Very close to the tram/bus stop. Nice restaurants nearby. Quiet neighborhood. We got the standard room and it was barely large enough to fit the bed. One-way traffic only walking past the bed. Nice bathroom and friendly and helpful people, but the room was a bit small and needed some minor repairs. A bit pricey for the room quality. But, a great location...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreshAir88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed there for 3 Nights during a Conference at Amsterdam RAI.Only 5 Mintues to the Tram. Lot's of Restaurants and Stores in the Area. Good Breakfast. I enjoyed it. Everything was clean and in good condition.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Agree with what everyone has been saying - excellent location and great value. Rooms were on the smaller side, but could still fit two comfortably. It's on a peaceful street, a 5 minute walk to the major museums and an easy walk to the other main parts of Amsterdam (about 10 minutes to Leiseplein). Comfortable beds and a clean room. Decent breakfast and free wifi with a good signal. The staff were very friendly and helpful with recommendations. I'd absolutely consider staying here again for future trips!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#76 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
377 House - Amsterdam
#66 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#12 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,646 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Property: Hotel Aalders
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by three generations of the Aalders Family since 1955, the Hotel Aalders is a charming establishment with a 3 star rating, located on a quiet, residential street. Ideally situated in the cultural centre of Amsterdam, the comfort and hospitality of Hotel Aalders can be found just a few minutes from the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum and the astonishing historic city centre. We are delighted to welcome you and will make sure that you enjoy your stay and feel at home. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing