We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, value for money”
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
Ranked #50 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
groningen
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“nice hotel, value for money”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I spent one night in this hotel. Great location near the musea, located in a pleasant quiet street, transportation nearby. My room was basic, but it was exactly as described on the website and I like that a lot (they're not lying!). The bathroom was new and very clean. Hallways and stairs a bit shabby, could be better. Breakfast okay, staff friendly and welcoming. The hotel rates in Amsterdam are generally crazy and with regard to that, this hotel certainly is a pleasant exception. A drawback: I was flabbergasted to find a bottle of water on my table with a label stating that the hotel would like to offer me this bottle, but this sentence was lined through and they put "€ 2" on the label! Is this Dutch hospitality??? So unprofessional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchtourist7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    604
    99
    19
    19
See reviews for
376
420
153
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on a return trip from Tanzania. Although the hotel is located a stone's throw from several museums, it is on a quiet street. Our room was fairly small, typical of Europe, but had quite a good size bathroom and everything was clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had to leave before breakfast was served, and when we let them know, they prepared breakfast for us and served it in the small bar on the first floor. They also sell tickets for attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Since we weren't going to be spending much time in the hotel, we didn't want to spend a lot of money. This is a SUPER location within walking distance of both the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh. Nice to have the option of having your hotel get the tickets so you don't have to stand in line. We were a bit too warm in our room and had to open the large french doors to cool us off. There was no reading light for the one bed - we had requested single beds and the two beds pushed together both had above the bed reading lights, but the single bed in the corner did not and there was no outlet near the bed to plug in the pole lamp.

Breakfast was not just a roll and coffee. Meat, cheeses, vegetables, breads, roll assortment, hot boiled eggs, fruits, juices, coffee and teas. Very nice.

It's not luxurious but the linens and towels and bathroom were all clean and neat.

Because my friend has knee troubles, she didn't think she could manage the bus to the airport but a private car was only 39 Euros which we split and we were there at 7:30 in the morning after only a 20 minute drive.

It's a bit noisy when people come in late or leave early in the morning as the place is old but that is part of its charm.

The restaurant recommendations were fabulous. Having come off a river cruise on the Danube, Main and Rhine we were ready for the The Seafood Bar around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is located on a quiet street in Amsterdam's Museum Quarter, within easy walking distance of the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk Museum, and the Concertgebouw. The hotel occupies two adjacent townhouses. Our room must have been a former living room looking out over the neighboring backyards. The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was modern and clean. The price of the room was reasonable and included free WiFi and an extensive breakfast buffet. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copernicus2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Aalders and it was a very good choice. A bus at the airport stops a block away from the hotel, so don't take an expensive taxi.

The hotel is 3 short blocks from the Van Goh museum and the Rijksmuseum, and very close to the canals. We walked all over the canal district from the hotel, but there were also buses and trams a block away to take you everywhere.

The hotel is on a very quiet street that is a mix of residences and other small hotels. Our room was not very large, but it was adequate and clean.

The staff is very helpful, for example, looking for the best canal house tour, or finding the hours or addresses of sights.

The breakfast room was particularly nice, with tablecloths and views of the quiet street. Breakfast was a plentiful buffet.

We were very pleased with this hotel, and that we didn't pay a high price for such a prime location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DettaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Aalders was the perfect combination for my boyfriend and I to stay in Amsterdam for a few days. The location is right next to all the good museums. And plenty of shopping is nearby. I recommend renting bikes and riding around town, so beautiful!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Super location in museum district, near upscale shopping and tram stop. Friendly, helpful staff; comfortable beds and nice shower; good wifi; free breakfast. This was my second stay and we will return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#27 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,034 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#79 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,023 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#11 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#39 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,062 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#115 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,059 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#72 of 367 in Amsterdam
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Property: Hotel Aalders
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by three generations of the Aalders Family since 1955, the Hotel Aalders is a charming establishment with a 3 star rating, located on a quiet, residential street. Ideally situated in the cultural centre of Amsterdam, the comfort and hospitality of Hotel Aalders can be found just a few minutes from the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum and the astonishing historic city centre. We are delighted to welcome you and will make sure that you enjoy your stay and feel at home. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing