We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay at Hotel Aalders” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
Ranked #49 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great stay at Hotel Aalders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel staff was extremely helpful in giving us information about the trams, restaurants, train schedules, etc. Great location -- near the tram and bus stops and the museums. The breakfast was decent and the hotel very clean and nicely kept. A cute little bar is off the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    548
    87
    18
    15
See reviews for
339
364
132
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel was a stopover for us as we were traveling from Canada to Africa. Definitely, it's in a good location. We could walk to just about everything, except for the red light district. Since we were in Amsterdam for such a short time, this was pretty important. It's very quiet also, so we had a good night's sleep here.

We realize, of course, that Amsterdam is an expensive city for tourists and this hotel lived up to our expectations in that regard. I suppose it is priced right compared to other hotels, but it was awfully expensive considering what the rooms were like. They were very small and fairly plain and simple. We had four adults crowded into one small room, which is a bit much by North American standards, I think. We had arranged this hotel online and after seeing the room, I felt that we had been a bit duped. I really felt I had been led to expect something with a little more space.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oolichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

i spent 5 days in amsterdam with family (wife and three kids). The hotel was great, clean and comfortable beds. Bathroom was super excellent and the staff were very helpful in giving us tips and tourist maps every morning. I will surely check in again when in Amsterdam

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galihamza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We came for a week; our first room was on the third floor and was both very small and VERY hot (Amsterdam was having a warm week). We asked if they could move us, and they gave us a room that was much better, with a/c and a bigger bath. The staff has been very helpful throughout our stay.

The location is just wonderful; the street is pretty and quiet. It's a short walk to the tram station, and there are lots of restaurants and shops around it.

Worst part was the beds. The "two singles" are tiny beds, each barely big enough for a person, with feet hanging over the end. Our first bed was a double, which was far too soft.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryB34695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Friendly staff eager to help, gracious, kind. Tawny location.
Easily accessible on foot to everything one could want.
Hotel is adding a/c currently so in summer ask for those rooms.
Breakfast is beautifully done for a happy days start.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chezshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My three daughters and I have just returned from a very happy three days in Amsterdam, and the charming staff at Hotel Aalders certainly added to this experience. We took the 197 bus from the airport to the bottom of the street and the whole journey took only about 35 minutes. We were too early to get into our room but the staff happily looked after our cases so we could start our sightseeing straight away. The hotel is literally within a few minutes walk of all the major museums, the Blue Boat canal tour, and an easy walk or tram ride to the centre of town. We had a family room for four, and although it wasn't luxurious, it was clean, had extremely comfortable beds, a lovely shower and was very quiet even though we overlooked the road. The breakfasts were very good each morning and all the staff were kind and helpful, providing maps, booking a bicycle tour for us and giving directions. On the last day they kept our cases after checkout and we returned later to collect them before using the bus once again to reach the airport. A really super hotel in a brilliant location and we will definitely return here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

An anticipated nineteen hour layover in AMD necessitated my stay, but I wanted to make the most of it. After careful review of others' feedback, I knew Hotel Aalders was the right choice. My room preference was not available upon checkin, but I was upgraded (without asking) to much larger family room which was beautiful, spacious and comfortable and which (surprise) had a balcony on which I enjoyed a glass of wine (from downstairs) after long day traveling. The staff was very friendly and even prepared with walking map and suggested routes for making the most of my 1/2 day visit. Close to everything so this was achievable. Taxi was reserved upon my request. I will definitely come back to Hotel Aalders and beautiful Amsterdam for a longer stay next year. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#29 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#77 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#56 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,665 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
No photo provided
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#53 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Property: Hotel Aalders
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by three generations of the Aalders Family since 1955, the Hotel Aalders is a charming establishment with a 3 star rating, located on a quiet, residential street. Ideally situated in the cultural centre of Amsterdam, the comfort and hospitality of Hotel Aalders can be found just a few minutes from the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum and the astonishing historic city centre. We are delighted to welcome you and will make sure that you enjoy your stay and feel at home. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing