We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
Ranked #56 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Excellent location (close to Museums and park) and price, especially considering the full included breakfast. Easy to find and reach via tram. Good city map provided by hotel. Bicycles are available to rent from hotel but we walked around area instead. The air in our room felt a bit stuffy, but from our room, you could open big doors onto a balcony on quiet street, and there was also a fan in the room. Shower only; no bath in our room. Narrow stairs may be tricky for some but there is an elevator too. Single people might be able to find cheaper or closer to nightlife, but this place is really an excellent deal for everyone. Non-smoking inside was a big plus for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel is very close to the bus stop for the 197 to/from the airport and the museums are close by too! All the staff encountered were very helpful. We had to leave early for our return flight-no problem an early breakfast (feast would be a better description) was laid out for us in the bar area. Fantastic! The rooms were clean and a fan provided. Stairs were steep as to be expected given the building but there is a lift if needed. Rooms were clean. Well located for sightseeing and tram/bus stops close by. We all enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippa71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Amazing customer service, great location, great treatment, very nice breakfast and tender beds! Maybe the room I stay was very small, but confortably, the room does not have AC and I was there during summer time, so the weather was very very hot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose_FallasCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife had stayed in this hotel before so I knew it was good even though I don't normally stay in 3 star hotels. We got a number 197 bus in from the airport and got off at the en d of the street at the Museumplien. So easy ! The Museum area is a really nice area to stay with lots to see and do.
The hotel is very nice, clean and well presented, The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great. All in all we had a great holiday and a very nice hotel. We also watched Andy Murray win Wimbledon in our room as they have British TV channels. The also have free wifi !

Room Tip: If you can, ask for room 1B. It's the largest and has a nice outlook onto the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillH41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The staff of the old and charmy hotel was very friendly and helpful. Breakfest was good and the location near to the trams, airport buss and museums was excellent. The family room was a bit small and a fridge would have been super in the summer time. A fan device (a cooler) was bought to the room and it was super with the 30 degree heat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotel was clean, comfortable, staff was very helful and professional. It has all you can expect from a 3* hotel and pretty much all you need for a short stay in the city. I had a great room with garden view, the area is quiet yet it's very close to the city center and museum district. Perfect for sightseeing, therre's a tram stop 2min walk, which makes it very easy to access from P+R. \
Internet is too slow.
Overally a hotel to recommend, good value for money (as long as you book via internet, not a standard rate!).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakub S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a typical European guesthouse with steep stairs, friendly staff and a continental breakfast. The beds were good, the bathroom clean, the Aircon worked well and the traffic noise was no more than normal. We walked or caught a bus (5min walk to bus stop) everywhere - the location is great. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jim9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,090 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#10 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,871 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#77 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,068 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#82 of 372 in Amsterdam
958 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#46 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $114 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by three generations of the Aalders Family since 1955, the Hotel Aalders is a charming establishment with a 3 star rating, located on a quiet, residential street. Ideally situated in the cultural centre of Amsterdam, the comfort and hospitality of Hotel Aalders can be found just a few minutes from the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum and the astonishing historic city centre. We are delighted to welcome you and will make sure that you enjoy your stay and feel at home. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing