We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and cozy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
Ranked #51 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“Friendly and cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Small but clean room. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Elevator a plus so you don't have to carry suitcases up/down the narrow stairs! Breakfast consisted of cereals, milk, plain yogurt, egg, toast, rolls (white and whole wheat), dark bread, cold cuts, cheese, jam, juice, fruit and coffee/tea. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel is on a quiet street but close to bus to/from airport and trams going to the more busy streets. Also within walking distance to museums, a grocery store and the lively Vondelpark. We went there for a jog before breakfast every morning. Will definitely recommend this to friends who are traveling to Amsterdam! And we will stay here when we visit next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelplanner66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    581
    93
    19
    16
See reviews for
356
403
140
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Hotel Aalders in the Jan Luykenstraat is probably one of the last family run hotels in Amsterdam and, as I have had the privelege of staying there for more than 23 years on business and with my family.
The Aalders Hotel has had a very interesting history, particularly in the 2nd WW, when the family very courageously hid several Jews escaping the Nazi occupation.
The Hotel is near the famous Concert Gebouw, The Rijksmuseum and the Vincent Van Gogh Museum as well as the PC Hooftstraat, the 'Bond Street - 5th Avenue' of Amsterdam.
It's friendly, comfortable and the nearby bus and tram transport for Schiphol airport is excellent.
You are also near a good variety of some of the best restaurants in Amsterdam.
If you like Thai food, Sama Sebo & The Bangkok Restaurant in the Reguliersdwarsstraat are excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 616CharlesH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with Hotel Aalders. Our booking noted "small room". We found our room quite adequate, not small by European standards at all. The room was clean, the bed and pillows comfortable and the shower efficient. The service was cheerful, helpful and curtious. The breakfast offered adequate continental variety.The location is perfect for museums and art galleries as well as for upscale shopping. Wide selection of restaurants within walking distance. Would gladly stay in Aalders again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4winds60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
165 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a lovely stay in hotel Aalders, very centrally. In the evening we had to be in the Center and the day after in Amstelveen. Just 200 m from the hotel the bus and tram stop that we used coming from Schiphol and the day after to Amstelveen.

The hotel is close to the trendy shopping streets and the museum plein with the music hall.

We ha room 6, which is a triple room with a balcony, very spacey and clean. Just be aware that there are only 2 sockets for charging devices. Cleanliness, friendly service, nice breakfast etc. the only recommendation I would give is to change the pillows. Also personal but they all were very hard.

I would definitely consider this hotel again when I need to go back to AMS.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malveiradaserra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for three nights and were very satisfied with our stay. Frendly and helpfull staf, nice rooms, nice enough breakfast and walking distance to centre of the city. The neighbourhood is a very quiet one, nothing disturbed us during the night. The breakfast is far from bad but a few more thing to choose between had been nice. I will defenetly stay here next time I visit Amsterdam!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The location was great,away from the center's noise but 200 meters from tram 5 stop which takes you to center in just 5 minutes. Staff was friendly. The breakfast was pretty decent. Walls were a bit thin but the hotel guests were quiet folks so we didn' t have much of a problem. I really liked that the hotel is always locked and you have to ring a buzz to let you in. I felt safer that way. If I ever visited Amsterdam again I believe I would choose Aalders once again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Demigr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#31 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#14 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#61 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#127 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#35 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#83 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Property: Hotel Aalders
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by three generations of the Aalders Family since 1955, the Hotel Aalders is a charming establishment with a 3 star rating, located on a quiet, residential street. Ideally situated in the cultural centre of Amsterdam, the comfort and hospitality of Hotel Aalders can be found just a few minutes from the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum and the astonishing historic city centre. We are delighted to welcome you and will make sure that you enjoy your stay and feel at home. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing