We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice location”
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
Ranked #53 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Karlstad, Sweden
2 reviews
“Very nice location”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for three nights and were very satisfied with our stay. Frendly and helpfull staf, nice rooms, nice enough breakfast and walking distance to centre of the city. The neighbourhood is a very quiet one, nothing disturbed us during the night. The breakfast is far from bad but a few more thing to choose between had been nice. I will defenetly stay here next time I visit Amsterdam!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    591
    97
    19
    19
See reviews for
362
415
145
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The location was great,away from the center's noise but 200 meters from tram 5 stop which takes you to center in just 5 minutes. Staff was friendly. The breakfast was pretty decent. Walls were a bit thin but the hotel guests were quiet folks so we didn' t have much of a problem. I really liked that the hotel is always locked and you have to ring a buzz to let you in. I felt safer that way. If I ever visited Amsterdam again I believe I would choose Aalders once again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demigr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Located in a tree-lined street near the major museums, it was peaceful here. I had a double room facing the street which was large enough for my needs and nicely furnished. Staff very friendly and helpful and breakfast (included in price along with wifi) was substantial. Very good value overall. Would recommend to others

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
150 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I would recommend this hote, it is clean and friendly. The small doubles are small, not much room for a suitcase, some have had the bathroom refubished. The staff are brilliant very helpful and friendly - there is a nice bar with drinks at reasonable prices. The location is excellent although there is a little way to walk to the attractions. There are shops nearby and a supermarket not too far away.
Try de knijp and Caneletto restaurants, certainly de knijp is absolutely wonderful with fantastic food and amazing staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The service was very friendly and nice. Room was a bit too small, but that`s the way the houses are in Amsterdam, I gess. Only bad thing was the ventilator in the bathroom: if you put the light on in the bathroom, then the ventilator will work for about 30 minutes after you have shut the light off, so at night we did not turn on the bathroom light, becouse the ventilator made a really loud noise. But the locatin is perfect- on a silent and nice neighbrohood and not far form the centre of town (may walk or by tramm).

Room Tip: do not take the smallest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kikapik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A great hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Stayed for 2 nights and would definitely stay again. Fantastic value for money, free wi-fi and a great location.
The only downside was the breakfast which could've been a little bit more substantial and the fact that my room was close to reception and I could occasionally hear noise from there. However that's nitpicking, I'd highly recommend a stay here and I'd definitely go back (preferably once the museums are reopened!)


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gareth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#28 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#13 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#71 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#80 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#123 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#47 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Property: Hotel Aalders
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by three generations of the Aalders Family since 1955, the Hotel Aalders is a charming establishment with a 3 star rating, located on a quiet, residential street. Ideally situated in the cultural centre of Amsterdam, the comfort and hospitality of Hotel Aalders can be found just a few minutes from the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum and the astonishing historic city centre. We are delighted to welcome you and will make sure that you enjoy your stay and feel at home. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing