We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Correct. Conveniently placed very near Concertgebouw”
Review of Hotel Sander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sander
Ranked #289 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Small hotel, just correct. Conveniently placed very near Concertgebouw. Several tramway lines pass nearby. 20 minutes pleasant walk from hotel to RAI Congress Center (I had to attend a Congress there, my wife just wantet to do tourism in the city).
Our room (3rd floor) was small but clean. Bed and bathroom were OK.
Breakfast simple but also OK. I don't need a sumptuous breakfast.
Personnel OK. A light bulb in the lamp above our bed was fused. We reported it when we went away from the hotel in the morning, and in the afternoon it was readuly substituted.
They arvertise there is wi-fi everywhere in the hote, but in our room it didn't work; apparenmtly it was only working only in the ground floor.
Overall, just OK, especially if you want a simple but correct hotel not far from RAI Congress Center, and also well connected byt tram with city centre.

Room Tip: Some people say the basement room should better be avoided. Our room in 3d floor was OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank handreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 192 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Safe area but you need to be buzzed into the hotel like a 2 year old, no internet on the upper floors, poor to zero connectivity in the lobby and eating area. The owner has no client service skills and did not listen to the internet issues I and others had in the lobby.

There was virtually no water pressure on the 4th floor, you cannot regulate the heat in the room, the telephone did not work, the stairs are very steep even for Amsterdam. The is a hotel for the desperate. The only good thing about this place is the location.

Room Tip: Review trip advisor and look at the trends. They are very telling. Second, book early or you get s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ericksonce2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Hotel à éviter absolument: accueil exécrable, chambres sales, odeurs de haschich / horrific experience: dirty, smoky, nasty.
Twe travelled with our daughters and the guy at the reception - very unpleasant since he knew confident since he knew we would be debited on our Visa Card anyway -wanted to give us rooms either separated by 4 floors, or in the basement!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khalloud61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Good- right by a tram stop - Number 16 which takes you into the city to all the stops you need.
Clean and staff are OK. The beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was good. Water is hot and heating works. Has a bar which they will serve you at when you require.
Bad- We had the basement room which is quite a good size but smelt. ( not sure if water pump was broken as damp patch on the floor.) The night staff were noisy and did not know what they were doing at 7 am when checking us out. Breakfast is not worth the money- go elsewhere for breakfast.
However if you want a budget hotel and not the noise of the inner city & want your own bathroom then this was an OK hotel. They mean NO SMOKING which was good.
Having been many times to Amsterdam and stayed at more expensive hotels I was happy with this stay overall which was only for two nights. The location was good as right by Museumplein and Albert Cypt Market. The Tram stop just a little way from outside hotel made it good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel is located just off the Museumplein at a calm nice street.

The rooms are quite small and a little renovation wouldn't hurt, but everything is clean and if you're not planning on sitting in your room too much it will do the trick.

Breakfast in the morning is quite good, service level is also fine.

Overall good money/value ratio.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukasz555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hotel Sander is located in walking distance to Museumsplein and only 3 stations by tram from Leidseplein. The Hotel is a bit old fashioned and not in best shape, but every was clean the staff was friendly. If you just need a bed and a shower (ours was recently renovated) it´s perfect.

Room Tip: We were also lucky to get room 441 from which you can look to the backyard and above the sourroundin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamburgali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights ,
It was a big of a disaster .. This is what happened
We booked it with hotels.com
When we arrived at the hotel the check in staff did not / would not acknowledge our booking even though we had the electronic booking confirmation right in front of him .
He leg us stay at the hotel but charged us more that what we locked in with hotels.com,
It was not that much more but it pissed me off, particularly because they made us wait for ages to get into the room / it was 9 at night so we were looking forward to getting into bed
When we finally got into the room it smelt soooooooo strongly of bleach!!!! Initially this pleased me as I like clean,
The next day though our clothes were stained by the bleached they had left on the floor, ( yes I should not have put my clothes on thd floor when showering)
My theory now with hand stuff around check in is the room was not ready anx they were quickly cleaning it,
We wouldn't have minded if they had of just said leave your bags here and cons back in an hour,
It's Amsterdam. Plenty to do
Overall it was not bad except we list a pair of trousers ANd a t shirt


  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missky27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#265 of 372 in Amsterdam
509 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
De Bedstee Boutique Capsules
De Bedstee Boutique Capsules
#348 of 372 in Amsterdam
5 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Verdi
Hotel Verdi
#186 of 372 in Amsterdam
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred Hotel
The Alfred Hotel
#220 of 372 in Amsterdam
752 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#271 of 372 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sander

Address: Jacob Obrechtstraat 69, 1071 KJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $83 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sander 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Hotel located in downtown Amsterdam, near World Trade Center & RAI Congress Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sander Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing