We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sander
Ranked #304 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rhineland-Palatinate
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Little value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I had booked a three-star hotel room and got a shabby and! tiny room worthy of a maximum of one star. The hotel is not too far away from the center of Amsterdam and is staffed by attentive personnel, which are probably the two good things I can say about this place.

The room provided by the attentive staff was on the backside; the carpet had stains in it. The room was barely big enough for the bed and in-room! sink; the bathroom sported a shower and a toilet bowl, which must have been put in by an an enthusiastic, but nonetheless amateur plumber. It simply did not look very professional.

The hotel does not provide parking, even though outside the hotel there are two signs, boasting that the hotel is recommended by auto clubs in Switzerland and Germany. Parking around the hotel costs about €4 per hour. The staff pointed out that parking can be had at the reasonable price of €8 per 24 hours at the Olympic Stadium about 2km off.

If all that was not enough, I was really taken aback by the fact that credit-card payments cost extra! The hotel slaps another 4% on top if you have the nerve to pay by credit card! I could have survived one night with a room which had its best days twenty years ago and parking that was a brisk twenty-minute walk away, but the extra payment for the credit card was too much.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeCurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    31
    51
    33
    28
See reviews for
20
47
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

we stay 1 night in this hotel,not so bad,like some people write,clean big room,nice size bed,free WI-FI.Very friendly staff,so,breakfast ,not too much,but pretty good ,its not a buffet.location is really good and very close to all attractions.For this price, I think ,not so bad.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This hotel is not a clean one, and breakfast is just a fake 'buffet': only a small dish with very tiny slices of cheese(1), salami(1) and ham(1) per person!
The bed is 30cms from the walls...
The carpet (even the one which covers the elevator walls...) is very old and untidy.
You have to give more 4% of your bill if you pay it by credit card, plus residence taxes (more 22Euros) not included in the reservation, even if already paid.
You certainly get a better deal at the centre for the same price or lower!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krebs030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of June 2011. It is located in a quiet, residential area of the city, just round the corner from the No 16 tram stop which runs through the city centre to the central station.

Vondel park is within 400 metres and there is a pizzeria and two cafe/restaurants (all popular with the locals) within 300 metres.

Our room on the third floor was clean and comfortable and a good breakfast was provided, comprising juices, cereals, boiled egg, ham, cheese and preserves.

The price was not out of the way, considering Amsterdam prices in general.

Room Tip: Book in advance, they won't let you down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vincefowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

In the states, a 3 star bid in almost any city gets you a decent, clean (hamton inn, etc) hotel. Not in AMS, so you have to get a b&b or bid for 4-5 star place.

We had a basement room, which was so gross... mirror falling off wall, bad carpet, TINY bathroom, tile broken, mold, etc. I felt gross in there.

PROS:
-near museaums ("I amsterdam" sigh) and tram.
-safe neighborhood, beautiful trees, apartments, etc. great ambiance.

CONS:
-20 minute walk to anything besides museums
-horrible service (made us check out at 11 even though priceline said 12)
-7 EURO "departure hotel tax" on top of the priceline payment
-bad internet
-YOU CAN HEAR EVERY WOrD OF YOUR NEIGHBORS, so if they come in at 2 am, you hear it....

If you expand your bit to "city center south" you will be in another, slightly farther residential area and just 5-10 min away from the city. After we left the hell hole that was the Sander, we got a 5 star for $175 just a 5 minute tram ride away from Sander and could have gotten 3-4 star for much cheaper.

Pay for the unlimited tram card (an above ground train for easy access to eveything) for 7Euro/day and you can go all over the city SO easily.

BOTTOM LINE- THIS HOTEL SUX!!!!!!!! I'm a flight attendant and have stayed at some pretty bad places, but this one was one of the worst.

Room Tip: Priceline-Bid for a 4 star in AMS or SOUTH of city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmericanGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Unpleasant staff who placed us in a dingy basement room on Day 1 then moved us (a married couple) to two single rooms on separate floors Day 2 - the single rooms were tiny, dingy, scruffy with no tea/coffee facilities, no iron, no basic hairdryer, the tiny tele hardly worked, had to practically crawl up the steep stairs to our rooms, even the room door didn't open or lock properly ! Our Story - The Guesthouse we'd first booked into had lost our reservation upon arrival in Amsterdam so the guesthouse owner found us our alternative, The Hotel Sander, during a busy Easter weekend, the Hotel Sander gloated about "Quadrupling" their room rates because (a) it was Easter, (b) we were desperate for a room or we'd be flying home again ! yes I'm aware many hotels enjoy doing this to their guests but I've never seen a hotel look so pleased about it right to your face which destroyed my otherwise high opinion of the Dutch and would have totally ruined a romantic weekend except we are better than that and still managed to have a good time away from our hotel experience(s). I would not return to the Hotel Sander if they offered me a free weekend - I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy ... be afraid be very afraid !!! ps. 460 Euros was charged for 2 nights in below average rooms - everything about this hotel is completely shameful !

Room Tip: A tip would be avoid avoid avoid !!!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacki66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

On arrival we were asked to hand over money as a 'security deposit' - no mention was made of this at time of booking. When we questioned this the hotel staff pointed at a note that had been sticky taped to the desk. Offered no choice we had pay. The money was returned on check out, credit card details kept for a week. Accomodation was basic and fine BUT this is a VERY badly sound-proofed hotel. Other guests were not particularly noisy but every conversation in the next room could be heard-every door that was opened and closed-every footstep on the stairs-earplugs had to be purchased. Will not be returning to the Hotel Sander.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarshalSpecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#238 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Hotel Europa 92
#187 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
#305 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#240 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sander

Property: Hotel Sander
Address: Jacob Obrechtstraat 69, 1071 KJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sander 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Hotel located in downtown Amsterdam, near World Trade Center & RAI Congress Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sander Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing