We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Ranked #93 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, really nice staff. The rooms are comftable and clean but NO ELEVATOR so you have to climb the stairs.

The hotel is a bit far from the city center, you neet to take the tram or bikes or go for 30 min to the center.

Anyway, we had a nice stay and we'll come back! Recommend you all.

Helpful?
Thank Maya K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    252
    64
    26
    15
See reviews for
131
294
125
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I spent three days in Amsterdam and stayed in this hotel. Everything was perfect: location, my room (#5), breakfast, service . I followed the recommendations of my sister and her son who stayed in this hotel couple of years ago. I am glad that I picked this hotel for my stay. It was absolutely enjoyable to be there. I booked it directly through the hotel. Tessa is terrific. She responded right away and did all what I asked her to do. I used the shuttle bus to get here from the airport $17 cost, 15 minutes ride. I recommend this hotel with no reservations to anybody who is perusing the perfection.

Room Tip: I stayed in room humbler five. It was away from the street. Very quiet I could hear the birds singi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane5Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

It's almost like at home! A lovely toy dog is waiting for you in your bed when you come back in your room in the hotel after long day. Warm croissants and delicious jam in smart glass jars are waiting you for breakfast. Organic bathgel&shampoo with nice smell is waiting you for fresh shower.
Staff is really united team - from small smiling mulatto boy (cleaning rooms) to tall handsome blond guy at reception, and everyone is very sympathetic and helpful!
I wish one day I'll be back)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iuliia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
You made us smile with your nice comments. And we will do our utmost to keep the team together to welcome you back during your next trip to Amsterdam! They are indeed a great bunch of people, we are proud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed here with a friend for a long weekend exploring Amsterdam. Having visited Amsterdam before I took the decision to look for a hotel out of the centre and chose this one due to the Trip Advisor previous reviews.
I booked directly with the hotel and that was easy to do.
Before we arrived I told them we were going to be there very early as we had a 6am flight from UK, they were happy to store our luggage until check in time and when we arrived back after a day out shopping and exploring our cases were in our rooms! They even made us a cup of tea before we headed out!
I had a one bedroom room on the first floor, up a typically steep set of 'Amsterdam' stairs, relatively easy to climb as long as you don't have a case!!
My room was spotless, very comfy bed under the window with a TV, small desk, chair, case stand. There was a hanging shelf for clothes. The bathroom was a wet room with a very efficient shower and toiletries.
My room was on the front of the house so with the window open it was fairly noisy with the trams trundling up and down. This wasn't a problem with the window closed and no worse than any other city.
I really loved the feel of the place, the staff were efficient and very friendly. They were able to give us lots of information about trams and the area around the hotel. We decided to take a shuttle from the airport and the staff phoned to book our return trip.
Breakfast was a fairly simple affair, but it was nice plenty of hot drinks and freshly baked croissants, cold meat, cheese, cereals and fruits.
They also had an honesty bar where you could make yourself a cup of tea or have a drink in the living /breakfast room area. I really like this idea great after a day exploring before hitting the town again at night!
The real added bonus was the free internet, all hotels should have internet and this one had fast internet - Brilliant!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are noisier, but not a huge problem. The stairs are very steep typical of Amsterd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyzzydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much for you feedback, very detailed.

It is correct that the rooms at the front can be a bit noisy when you leave the window open, but as you say, just like anywhere else. But they are double glazed and isolate very well and as it is a quiet neighbourhood traffic slows down very early and the tram stops running around midnight. The breakfast buffet is based on the 'continental' items, all fresh and bread is baked a la minute. We decided to keep it simple but with a good quality.

So again, thank you for your compliment & staying with us and see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed in this room for 1 night during a Europe car trip.

It was surprisingly great! The value we paid vs value received is great. The room was very modern and comfortable.

The staff was very helpful. We were about 20 minutes away from most of the main attractions in Amsterdam. We also bought some tickets to events/museums from the hotel and saved the line.

If I go back to Amsterdam, I'd definitely recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorkem I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

For me, the visit to amsterdam was all about Van Gogh and this place was perfect for that. The museum block was down the road which also had Rijk and Staedlijk . To add to that, the towncentre is a short tram ride away and we preferred to walk.
The hotel is just perfect with a very friendly staff, super clean and ours was in the adjoining building with a great sit out. The size of the room was especially astounding and our only crib was that it shouldnt have had their laundry right next to the front door.

We didnt take breakfast as there are great options around. I would definitely choose this place during my next trip too

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pinkyNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments for the team. I will make sure also our housekeeping department gets your remark on the cleanliness of the room, they deserve it, great you thought of them as well. Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed here recently when the Apple Inn ( up the road) had overbooked. Despite being "dropped" upon them at a busy time I was made to feel really welcome and the (studio) room was great. A lovely small hotel and I will stay here again I'm in Amsterdam

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#49 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#61 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#85 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#90 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#98 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#38 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Property: Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing