We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Intertraffic week at the Magnolia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Ranked #116 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Intertraffic week at the Magnolia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We found the service at the Hotel Magnolia outstanding. Most of our group had not been to Amsterdam before, but the Manager, Thomas, and other staff went out of their way to provide us with a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bsheahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Eigenaar at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thanks for the compliment. It has been a pleasure having you and ensuring that you knew there is more to Amsterdam than just the RAI exhibition center. We hope the conference was a success and looking forward seeing you the next edition of INtertraffic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    263
    69
    27
    16
See reviews for
133
306
131
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

the location of the hotel was very good-away from the noise of the center but close to the museum region. you can also take a tram at the corner of the hotel.If I will travel Amsterdam again I will definetly choose the same hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilker k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We spent a wonderful few days exploring Amsterdam from this cute little gem of a hotel. Rooms are small, but have a quirky character to make up for what they lack in size. Perhaps softer pillows could be sourced? Otherwise tastefully decorated, lovely hosts, great location, will be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shell3fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Love the place, the employees, the location… Evething so safe, friendly and amazing. The hotel doesn't have an elevator, but at least they have someone to carry our luggage upstairs. Great breakfast and staff always taking care of you. Tram right on the corner to most places I wanted to go. Loved it! Wanna go back as soon as I can!

Room Tip: If you can stay on the first floor, you'll have less steps to go up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lufeingold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Hotel The Neighbor's Magnolia was a last minute find for us on a whirlwind trip to Amsterdam. We drove in on a Friday evening, and Thomas, the desk clerk (who I later discovered to be the Manager), after checking us in, helped get us, our daughter, two dogs, and luggage up the steep steps to our room (room 129). He also waited with me until nearly midnight (2 hours after his quitting time) for a Pizza that never arrived. Unsolicited Tip: Don't use "Fantasia" pizza place close to their closing time. He offered to go find me something for the family to eat even then, and only quit asking when I told him that we'd be fine. The daughter did wake up at 2 asking for the pizza though, which caused me to have some not so nice thoughts about Fantasia (which does get good ratings on Yelp...).

Overall, the hotel was really nice. Our room was in the side of the hotel that is not as updated, but still very comfortable, and perfect for us. Breakfasts were ample and delicious with fresh fruit, fresh sliced meats and cheeses, fresh cooked croissants and broetchen, yoghurt with sprinkles (a hit with our 5 year old daughter), basically a typical European breakfast.

The "Living Room" is a comfortably appointed, warm space where they serve breakfast, but also where guests congregated. We met nice folks from India, and a few other places while there, and that added to the overall experience. They have an "Honor Bar" with selections of wines, beers, juice, water, coffee and tea, and it seemed to work well (no-one appeared to be taking unfair advantage of it).

We really enjoyed our stay and are already making plans to return. Price is reasonable (everything here in Europe is more expensive than I personally like, but it's literally the price you pay for living here), especially for the great facilities, location, and staff.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 129 (Studio) has a kitchen. Not as updated as the "new" section in the main part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Eigenaar at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Also on behalf of Bleecker, our hotel-dog, thank you for your nice comments. Glad that you and your entire family enjoyed your stay.
(By the way, and for your next stay, let us order your pizza, Thomas surely knows the places where to order. Or even better, enjoy one of our neighbouring restaurants, all fine places to go).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The location of the hotel is just great - it takes about 10 mins to walk to Concertgebouw, and it's really close to the tram stop. The rooms are very clean, staff were really helpful and friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FeliciaCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

My bf and I stayed here 3 nights and we really enjoyed. Place is clean, cozy and very quiet. What surprised me the most was comfortable bed. The room service was excellent. Hotel is located outside the city center but in walking distance to all city attractions. This is the place we would like to return to.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sowica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#89 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#92 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#85 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#157 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Property: Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing