We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Ranked #103 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I can't say too much about some hotel features, as I arrived at 23:30 and checked out first thing the following morning. The solo room was very nice, had a tv, was clean, comfortable bed and a personal bathroom. The customer service stood out as being very good; the website states that check-in is between 14:00-23:00 and I was unable to get there until 23:30, so I e-mailed them to ask if it would be okay to turn up late and received a reply ten minutes later saying the night porter would be able to stay late for me. The night porter was very polite and helpful even if I did make him stay later than necessary. The location of the hotel was excellent also, a pleasant 15 minute walk or so into the city centre.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanThompson21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
There are newer reviews for Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 871 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was exactly what I was looking for: somewhere inexpensive, conveniently located, clean & nice accomodations, friendly staff. As I was focused on museums for this trip, I started looking for cheap hotels near the museum district, and picked this one. The neighborhood is lovely and quiet, and residential with parks nearby. It may appear fairly far from the center on a map, but as Amsterdam is quite small, it is a very pleasant 35-45 minute walk to the historic center, or a 15 minute tram (stops very close to the hotel) or bike ride, and many key tourist sites (like the Rijksmuseum & Van Gogh Museum) are closer (10 minute walk).

I was traveling alone, and the single room I had was small but met all my needs with a comfortable bed and warm shower with good water pressure. They also had some handy tourist & practical (e.g. where the nearby supermarket is) advice written by the staff that was provided in the room. I was concerned at first because I was arriving late (midnight) and it said that the desk closes at 11 pm, but the night staff were able to let me in and there were no problems. There are only stairs and no elevator, which was no problem for me, but may concern some guests. However, the staff did offer to help with bringing bags up and down the stairs. The breakfast buffet looked a typical pretty good continental breakfast, although I did not try it as I typically just eat a very light breakfast of a coffee & pastry.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Eigenaar at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

We do indeed always offer to bring the luggage up&down the (typical Amsterdam) stairs we have. Helps us all to keep fit & in shape! :-)

Hope to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Would totally recommend this place. Perfect location - tram station a block away and walkable everywhere. Vondlepark is right around the corner. Super nice people - clean and comfortable all the way around. No elevator though so be prepared if you have heavy luggage!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kari N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Neighbour's Magnolia ( very special name) is a great hotel in a lovely quiet residential area. My room was nice, clean, nicely decorated, functional and...very quiet. I stayed at the backsite of the hotel. The staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was excellent with fresh baked breads and croissants. There are lots of excellent restaurants and cafes within a few minutes of the hotel. Also easy travel to the centre by tram or walk. I can recommend this very confortable hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Very nice n cozy place. Rooms are clean n seem to be recently renovated, with very comfortable beds and since we got our room downstairs we had a terrace with some tables n chairs so we could spend time in the garden. Price is reasonable n affordable:) Also a very good location. Easy access, two tram stations in 2-3min walk from the hotel. N the staff r also very nice:) Highly recommend to stay there

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank FireFox610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel is very cosy, cute and nicely decorated!Is within a walking distance from the centre of Amsterdam and there is also a tram stop in front of the hotel so the location is very good. I satyed there for only one night but i really enjoyed my stay there. The stuff was very friendly and professional, the room was very nice, clean ,warm and there was also a small court yard that you could go outside and smoke. I would choose this hotel again and i would definetely suggest it to friends.
As for the cons , the price was normal for Amsterdam but not cheap (almost 90€ for a double room) and i strongly believe that breakfast should be included in the price. I paid for the breakfast 14,5€ which was a terrible mistake as this breakfast was one of the worst i had in my life (and i had breakfast in many many hotels all over the world) as it was very very basic and for sure even if you ate everything from the buffet it wouldn't cost that much. Also the refill of the bread basket was very slow. I felt it was kind of ripp off . But apart from that everything was wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleninik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

You enjoyed the comfort of the room. As we just renovated all of them that is great to hear, as well as your compliment to the team!

But we are sorry to hear about your breakfast experience. I suggest that next time you book the breakfast in advance, that gives you an instant discount of € 4,- per person.
We bake the bread on site, therefore it might happen you have to wait 8-10 minutes in order to get steaming hot fresh rolls. You were very like in between a baking session. Furthermore the continental buffet consists of croissants, cheese, coldcuts, yoghurt, cereals, jams and 'hagelslag', boiled eggs, fresh fruits, selection of juices and milk, brownies, porridge, dried fruits and of course tea & coffee & hot chocolate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We had chosen this hotel through the recommendation of a friend that lived nearby. It is in a perfect location for touring the city. You are within walking distance of the museum district and the wonderful Rijksmuseum, which is a must-see. You are also within a 5 minute walk of the nearest tram station and that opens up the rest of the city to you. The location is also wonderful because it is not in the loud and bustling centre of the city but in an extremely well to do and quiet neighbourhood very close to the lovely Vondelpark, which is a beautiful, green area where Amsterdammers go to run, walk their dogs and relax. Like all Amsterdam buildings, you have to be prepared for the stairs in the hotel. The decor was very fresh and new and inviting. The staff looked after us perfectly and were really helpful with ideas for places to eat and things to go and see. They were also able to get us tickets to a couple of the museums on line so that we didn't have to wait in some of the long lines. Beds were very comfortable and rooms were very clean and warm. Normally, the price of the hotel is the biggest thing in your holiday budget but the price here was very reasonable and made the stay even more pleasant. They don't have a hotel restaurant (there are so many restaurants in the neighbourhood already) but they do a nice continental breakfast. We had a magical Christmas break in Amsterdam and will be coming back!

Room Tip: If you have troubles with stairs, there are rooms one flight up or down but there are no elevators.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#83 of 371 in Amsterdam
955 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#84 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,260 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#160 of 371 in Amsterdam
525 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#101 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,116 reviews
Vondelpark
The Tire Station
The Tire Station
#50 of 371 in Amsterdam
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $102 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing