We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Nearby Hotels
$345
$285
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$292
$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$413
$294
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$371
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$293
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$345
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$299
$242
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$248
$229
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $273/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$561
$331
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$124
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveler rating
479
299
79
33
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
299
79
33
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopno elevatorvan gogh museumsteep stairshonesty barolympic stadiumnumber trammuseum districtsingle roomsmall hotelheavy luggagebeautiful parkfriendly hotelquiet neighborhoodclose to the hoteltop floorquiet at night
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 910 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Quite small Hotel, but with excellent staff... however the rooms were quite small though, but did the work... anyway who wants to hang out in his hotel in Amsterdam! The only side mark would be the interior, it was on the border of worn out. However the staff was compensating this greatly! I cannot judge about the restaurant, as I was out every evening and had to rush out in the mornings... but the smell of the bread in the morning was superb, shame had no time to taste it!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementHZ, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your compliment, we will definately share it with the team.

Regarding the furniture, we are doing the last part of the restyling and re-decoration at this very moment, both in the lobby, the corridors and in the rooms. And I must say we are a little surprised that you experienced our brand new furniture as worn out. We use a lot of furniture (chairs, stools, tables) from HAY, a brand new Danish design furniture company, which we all received only early October 2013.
We hope that next time you taketime for breakfast before you hit the town and enjoy a coffee and an on site freshly baked roll or croissant, it's worth it. But thank you again for your feedback, we appreciate that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I arrived by train from Paris to the Central station and easily found our way to Hotel Zandbergen via Tram 2. Opposite the Railway station you can buy a travel smart card at the GVB building for tram, bus etc. I booked this hotel upon other reviews for what appeared to be good value and location and service. We had a very friendly greeting from Tessa - and over the 4 days we had friendly service from all staff. Our room was downstairs (which were steep and narrow) but not a problem for us as I believe this is normal in the area. I don't understand why some people complain if buildings, décor is not like they have at home - that's what travelling experiences are for - to broaden your outlook on another country's way of life!
We had a spacious room with garden outlook, 2 queen beds and a good bathroom with a bath.
Tea, coffee etc was available at reception and sometimes I would grab a mug of hot water for my herbal tea and take it to our room. The upstairs reception is light and airy with breakfast/food tables and also space the other side of this room for using computers, reading etc. I would recommend asking Reception on any outings or sightseeing ideas as they can pre-book for you and this can save time in queues. We hired Hotel Zandbergen bikes for 24 hours and literally rode around all the canals on one day and got up the next morning for a ride around the famous Vondelpark nearby.. we had not ridden for a while and I had no pain Whatsoever!! Diary of Anne Frank, Canal Tour and Van Gough Museum are all worthwhile. Even if you arrive late afternoon, a walk in Vondelpark which is 3 mins away is a good start and a beautiful area in the city. There are bike riders everywhere so take care. We found convenience stores and ATM's just a short walk away. We had a great coffee/hot choc with the best traditional apple pie at Coffee Plaza next to a Canal, I think the address is De Clercqstraat, 27 (1053 Amsterdam). The café setting was relaxing to be indoors or outdoors. Hotel Zandbergen was undergoing some painting and carpeting during our stay and as we left they were going to carpet and paint our room, so it should be even better now! Cant thank this Hotel and staff enough for a wonderful stay which created the feeling we would love to come back again and it was a lovely experience for our first visit :) :)
ps hope to add photos later

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jj72rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementHZ, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

It was great having you. Thank you for the compliments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A great hotel. Perfect for us - just between the Olympic Stadium and the Museum. We were in Amsterdam for the marathon. Great service and a good breakfast. We got a room for 4 people with lots af space and nice backyard.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olakro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were a Family with to adult daughtes. We had rooms on top - penthouse to the back, so very quiet and nice view.Tough there was no escalator it was OK. The staff offered to carry up the luggage, but we managed. We learned on canaltour that many houses in Amsterdam have narrow and steep stairs to save Space - so just Amsterdam The rooms were large, quiet, clean and the furniture in the whole hotel was modern - Danish design. The staff were very polite and helpful. Breakfast wás good. Tram to center two minutes from the hotel. Many restaurants in the area. Parking is quite expensive, but found a place near hotel. Can recomand this hotel.

Room Tip: Room to the back are quite.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Being originally from Amsterdam, I always like to stay right close to where I used to live so that I can visit my favorite places in this beautiful city. For that reason, I have stayed in Hotel Zandbergen on previous visits as well, and I have always liked it. This time, however, things were a little "different". The fact that the place has new owners may have something to do with it. During the earlier trips, personnel would always offer to carry my bags up the narrow stairs, this time I was just given the key at check-in with the a kind "your room is on the 2nd (=3rd) floor, have a good night". As mentioned by others, if you have trouble sleeping in a noisy environment, ask for a room in the back of the house, as, it can be pretty noisy in the street at night (mopeds and cars specifically). All in all still a very nice place to stay. If you have the chance, go to one of the concerts in the Concertgebouw, one of world's greatest concert halls, it is just a short walk from the hotel (not to mention all the great museums)

Room Tip: rooms in the back may be better than those on the street side. Also, the single rooms are really small.... spend a few extra $$ (or Euros) and get a larger room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementHZ, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment on the help with your luggage. Because yes, we are the owner and yes, we do some things differently. But there are many things we absolutely have not changed and that is putting service before everything else.
Especially as we are aware that the stairs are (typical for Amsterdam) steep, we always offer our guest to help with the luggage upon check-in or check-out. So we apologise that in your case obviously something went not the way it should have been. Hopefully you will stay with us again when you come back to Amsterdam in order for us to show you the restyled hotel with the wellknown personal service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews