We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Yes, the owner is a bit creepy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jupiter Hotel
Ranked #210 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yes, the owner is a bit creepy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The hotel was not so bad: clean, close to ecerything and with a good breakfast. But, as the other revisions said, the guy on the reception was creepy. At least he helped me with my luggage. Also, tbe single room with shared facilitoes was soo tiny that i couldnt even manage to open my suitcase. During some noghts, the heat in my room was turned off, and it was very cold. I asked the guy in the reception if it was a mainetance problem, he said that he simply had turned it off because he tought that i was at some party, and not at the hotel during the night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Marymmgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    147
    84
    39
    37
See reviews for
58
66
62
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Breakfast was nice and the room was clean. Had a shared bathroom, it was cleaned regularly and nice. Is in a very nice part of the city. Close distance to trams and bus stops. Overall was a good stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Lucas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

A good location, just 5 minutes from three different tram stops. Pretty quiet location as well, as it's just outside the canal district. No air conditioning, which might have been uncomfortable had we spent afternoons at the hotel, but why would you want to do that in Amsterdam? The room was pretty small, but clean and the bed was comfortable. The hotel has a small elevator, which is handy for luggage. Breakfast isn't anything special, but it's a pretty wide selection.

Don't expect overfriendliness from the proprietor and staff, but they are professional and lend assistance when asked.

A good place to stay for the price.

Room Tip: The shared bathroom are only shared by people in one single and one double room. The other rooms all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OilR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Worst hotel ever!!!
Do not stay here!!!! As we arrived the creepy man at reception was SO rude had a massive argument was not made to feel welcome at all.
He was in next room listening and the room was tiny & not for 4 people. When we went down after being there for 5 mins the man shouted at us stating the room was for 5 people which it clearly wasn't!!! Iwas so bad we lost out money but we could not stay here. We lasted 10 minutes. so booked a different hotel there & then over the phone.
DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank mrschikaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

After reading previous reviews I was apprehensive about staying at this hotel! However it had been recommended by a friend so it was booked.

I am delighted to say that I have nothing to complain about regarding my stay here!

This is not a boutique hotel (and the prices reflect this) - however the rooms are adequate, clean and comfortable. I found the staff friendly and helpful and they informed me about the lift immediately,

The hotel is nicely situated, afar enough away from the main tourist area to be quiet, but also only a pleasant short walk and you are in the center of the city.

I definitely will be booking this hotel again!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ras163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My friends and I booked 2nights at this hotel, we where there for a social time, we arrived 30mins before check in closed and the hotel was shut, we rang the bell on the wall for assistance and 'the man' came strolling from another building down the road, he didn't even welcome us in, he barged past us opened the door letting it slam against the wall and did the same again with his reception door then he asked for passports and payment, while he was filling out his paperwork he stopped what he was doing looked at us in such a rude manner and then continued to do his paperwork, our room was on the 3rd floor and to use the stairs you would be risking your life, once we got to our room which was meant to be a twin room, it was set out as a double, the room was small, I didn't even look in the bathroom the walls where thin all i could here was other peoples toilets flushing, I was appalled to be in this hotel, I wish I never paid the man, in the end I booked another hotel, the only one that was available at 10:30pm was the Marriott hotel twin room which was 5mins walk away, the owner ruined our 1st night in this wonderful city and Marriott made our weekend

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ricoleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I love Amsterdam, i have been 3 times in the past year. This was by far the worst hotel i have EVER been to. We arrived on the Friday, we were told check in was available until 10pm. we landed in amsterdam, went for a few drinks and really got into the fun spirit of holidaying in this beautiful city.
We arrived at the hotel at 9.30pm to drop off our luggage before going back out to enjoy the night life. At that moment we realised this hotel really was not for us. i have never known to meet one single person that can destroy a good mood and atmosphere to the point that this guy at reception did. He made it quite clear he didn't like us from the start, he was very creepy, he had no customer service skills and was so rude to us. we went up to our room... i lost count of how many flights of stairs we travelled with our luggage, with no help! we wernt told there was a lift in this hotel.
The room was tiny, no good for 4 people! only 2 bath robes and 2 tiny bags of haribo sweets. As my friends went to discuss this with the man he immediatley knocked on the door with extra robes.. it was almost as if there was a hidden camera in our room. very creepy.
He addressed my friend at reception with the sentence "what have you come to complain about?" she made it clear to him we were not there for trouble and that we were sorry if we got off on the wrong foot, his reply " i do not care if you want to make trouble, then make trouble"
it was obvious he did not want us there.
we were so creeped out we knew we couldn't stay there for the 2 nights we had already booked and payed for... yes it really was that bad! in the end we managed to get a room for 2 nights at the marriot hotel down the road which was worth every penny! we lost our money from the jupiter hotel but we really could not have stayed there.
Rude, creepy, awful man. do not stay here if you are going to Amsterdam for abit of fun!!! we felt like we couldn't even cough without getting into trouble!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#142 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
NL Hotel District Leidseplein
#207 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#254 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Sara's Boutique Hotel
Sara's Boutique Hotel
#233 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#239 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jupiter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Hotel

Property: Jupiter Hotel
Address: Tweede Helmersstraat 14, 1054 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jupiter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Jupiter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiter Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing