We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner is creepy”
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jupiter Hotel
Ranked #214 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Owner is creepy”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The location is great, the stairs are killers and you will be closely watched.
The fire alarm went off in the middle of the night so the next day when the owner came to my breakfast table I thought it might be an apology but no he wanted the price of our stay up front.
The stairs are more like a circular staircase and don't expect any help getting your luggage down.
Very odd personality on this owner, he really is in the wrong business.
The breakfast worker was always crying but she was very nice.
Hope this was because she has to work here and nothing serious.
I really don't know why he was watching everyone at breakfast but it gave me the creeps.
We didn't steal any eggs!

Room Tip: Only on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kconley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    168
    97
    43
    40
See reviews for
74
74
72
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Started badly by being told I couldnt pay by credit card! I suspect the person on reception didnt know how to use the machine, as I was later told it should have been fine!
The stairs are terrifying, but not really that unusual in Amsterdam, and there was a lift to the floor we were staying on. There were 4 of us staying in one room, it was perfectly adequate in size, and was always clean and well kept. A usual moan from British people I suppose, but there was no kettle, we'd even brought our own tea bags!
Overall, its a fine place, nothing exciting, but most people dont go to Amsterdam for an exciting hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tink802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gwann, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The location was great and staff friendly. Breakfast was awesome considering we paid so little. We rented a quad room which was small but truly just what we needed. We had no intention of spending time in the room! The stairs are quite horrible, especially when climbing with luggage, but truly it didn't dampen our stay. The only issue was the bathroom - the toilet leaked and the staff didn't do much rather than clean the mess. But we closed the door and there was no smell. It eventually stopped leaking. Otherwise all was good. December was a great time for Amsterdam!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckieZammit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nice stay in Jupiter Hotel. Not hot central but in walking distance to everything, public transports nearby, and actually really close to Leidsplein Square where you can find all the action you want day and night.
The hotel is small but friendly, well kept and clean. They have steep stairs, but you can use the elevator (the smallest elevator i've ever seen). Jay welcomed us on arrival, and was pretty nice an efficient. The Breakfast is basic, don't expect a 5 star buffet, but it fits the purpose, i thought it was good. The hotel was renovated not long ago and you have wifi all over.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ricardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

If by any chance you are handicapped or not in excellent shape...Don't stay here...The stairs are a killer and the owner is not one to help...He (as others have pointed out) is not a personable man and I think he does as little as possible to make sure the guest are pleased with their accommodations.
Breakfast is just o.k too..

Room Tip: Either stay on the first floor...Don't trust that he will have an elevator...Says it's broke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunshinebythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

this was my third time at jupiter.still plenty items to have for breakfast,hotel well situated for all sightseeing and just a short walk from the anne frank museum and the zoo.will use this hotel next time i am in amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfin50_ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#128 of 367 in Amsterdam
446 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#304 of 367 in Amsterdam
641 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#269 of 367 in Amsterdam
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#278 of 367 in Amsterdam
224 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#211 of 367 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#159 of 367 in Amsterdam
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jupiter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Hotel

Property: Jupiter Hotel
Address: 2e Helmersstraat 14, 1054 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jupiter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jupiter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiter Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing