We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad hotel”
Review of Belfort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belfort Hotel
Ranked #349 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Novi Sad, Serbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very bad hotel”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My company via one travel agency booked this hotel for me. All ratings on tripadvisor and booking.com are true. Plese don't go to this hotel unless you have to like me. Poor breakfast, hotel has some kind of bad smell, the care about hotel is zero!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoranR72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    88
    79
    222
See reviews for
57
121
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The worst "hotel" I have ever been at.
When we arrived we got a room whithout window but with mold on walls .
we could not brith there . we asked to get different room and thy gave us a room with bed on bed
that you could not moove on it whithout a lot of nois ad a feeling it will be broke on you!
Ugly place ,mold on the walls , broken sink, dirty place ,broken furniture,
We were shoked!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ido P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I found this hotel totally lacking in atmospher. It is tired and grubby. On the first day I asked for the only drawer in the room to be cleaned, I asked again the next day. Never did get done. A two slice toaster was not adequate for the amount of people wanting toast. One guest got the toast stuck and the staff person looked at her with an angry glare, got hold of a knife and stuck it in the toaster to free the bread. No health and safety there.
Boiled eggs saved the day as they still had shells on, the tired looking cold meats and cheese looked like they were past thier sell by date. Pigeons wandered in and out of the place without any fear of being showed out. Stair carpet was thread bare and covered in nasty brown stains.
On a brighter side, the beds were clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Go else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived, hotel was run down, tatty, smelly, we had a double bed with two single duvets on it, damp patches on wallpaper, bathroom light was hanging off ceiling, shower was dirty, cleaners did a terrible job, lobby smelt of urine, balcony was dirty with fag butts everywhere,

only good things were, location, good tv channels

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Princess Sarah-... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

It was the travel agency that booked the hotel, and my trip was not payed by me, so I can't comment on prices or value.
Hotel is old. Rooms are tiny! Bedroom is ok for small people.
Lots of people going on and off and the overall quality is near a 1 or 2 stars hotel.
There are better hostels.

Ok. I stayed just a night and therefore the hotel fulfilled its objective: I slept well and had a nice shower, and breakfast was not that bad. There was a couple, middle age, in a romantic or so trip, the lady was furious because this hotel was not even closer to the worse she had foreseen! And I agree.

On the other side, for a quick stop and visit to the city, it is not that bad. Not far from the centre, with nice parks near, and apparently quite cheap.

Room Tip: I stayed in the ground floor, perhaps a good choice in case of a fire or some problem you are closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jescalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

my partner and I arrived at the belfort on 20th June 2013 we were staying 3 nights until 23rd June. initially when we saw the outside of the hotel and the previous reviews read on here we were concerned however we were pleasantly surprised. the girl on reception was bright and pleasant and directed us to our room 223. our room was small compact and basic but very clean and pleasant. bed was comfortable and bathroom clean apart from the crack in the bath. only complaints about the room was that it became very hot at times during the night and that there weren't many electrical sockets. breakfast was nice and fresh croissants, bread, buns and cereal etc. only comment about the breakfast was the member of staff who looked constantly miserable and slightly unapproachable behind the bar. as for location the distance from town didn't bother us. the number 1 and 17 trams run regularly (1 is quickest) also we were given good advice from reception to get a 72 hr pass for €16.50 which was very good. overall this hotel good for the money paid and pleasant even though it could do with updating slightly but I would return again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleigh_T1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
West Side Inn Hotel
#295 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,885 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#235 of 367 in Amsterdam
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New West Inn Amsterdam
#166 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,052 reviews
Amstel Botel
#169 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,828 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#203 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfort Hotel

Property: Belfort Hotel
Address: Surinameplein 53, 1058 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Belfort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfort Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing