We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty standard”
Review of Euphemia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Euphemia Hotel
Ranked #269 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Location was decent, slightly quieter part of town. Rooms were pretty quiet, had plenty of outlets and wifi. Biggest complaint would be the unhelpful staff. Just about every other hostel we stayed at was able to recommend local restaurants, bars, attractions, etc. but the people at Euphemia were almost miffed when we asked.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank dereksalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 208 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

After trying to find many places in Amsterdam ended up to this place which was in my budget, Streets in Amsterdam some time gets so confusing, thats why this hostel in better location than it seems when you are walking around. You can reach this hostel easily from any famous landmark in Amsterdam.

Only problem I had was walking all the way to third floor (Many steps lol). Otherwise this is good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yogi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Value for money, location is great but quiet. Not for the party folk. But we had a good time. Staff is friendly and helpful and layed back. Guests were strange but the hostel can not choose guests. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed in a 6-bed mixed dorm for 9 nights. It was a good value except for on King's Day weekend, when prices more than doubled. Great location, I could find inexpensive breakfast or hop on the tram right across the street from the hotel. Also within a few blocks of the museum quarter, the Heinekin brewery and a nice canalside park. Great budget option for those traveling to Amsterdam who don't want to stay in the kitschy/more expensive hostels more north. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Beware, there's no elevator and the stairs are pretty steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leocie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is a budget hotel, and obviously not too fancy, but great for the money. Just 20 minutes walk into the centre, 5 minutes from the museum district, and close to lots of pretty canals as well. If you don't feel like walking, there is a tram stop right outside which goes into the centre. The location is pretty quiet, which is nice as we weren't looking for a party trip.

The service was very good too, they put us in a ground floor room because my partner is mobility-impaired. The room is nice enough, the bed was a little bit uncomfortable (and I usually don't notice these things), but not too bad.

Overall, for the price I would definitely recommend it if you're looking for private rooms (as opposed to hosteling it) but still on a tight budget!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padrig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

this hostel is well located for a decent price, but the guy at the reception was very rude and wanted to charge us 100€ because we smoked one cigaret at the window ( 1 cigaret during all stay, with window open) and he started yelling at us and saying that we burned the balcony when it was obviously there before we arrived and you can see at first look that many people have been smoking in the room.
It's not the worse hotel ever but I didn't like the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo75005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed there march 7 - 9th and it was a great place to stay for 50euros each.
Best shower i've ever been in! extremely powerful and doesn't go from hot to cold.
Location wise, really good. lots of links to public transport, coffee shops near by, not far from dam square.

Padlocks cost 10euro
towels cost 1euro
and you also have to put a deposit down for the room key of 10euro

would come back

Room Tip: room 36 if there is 4 of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 372 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#256 of 372 in Amsterdam
766 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#164 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#83 of 372 in Amsterdam
874 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#306 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euphemia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euphemia Hotel

Address: Fokke Simonszstraat 1-9, 1017 TD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $28 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Euphemia Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Euphemia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euphemia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing