We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“pretty standard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Euphemia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Euphemia Hotel
Ranked #256 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“pretty standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Location was decent, slightly quieter part of town. Rooms were pretty quiet, had plenty of outlets and wifi. Biggest complaint would be the unhelpful staff. Just about every other hostel we stayed at was able to recommend local restaurants, bars, attractions, etc. but the people at Euphemia were almost miffed when we asked.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dereksalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    59
    54
    26
    25
See reviews for
8
32
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

After trying to find many places in Amsterdam ended up to this place which was in my budget, Streets in Amsterdam some time gets so confusing, thats why this hostel in better location than it seems when you are walking around. You can reach this hostel easily from any famous landmark in Amsterdam.

Only problem I had was walking all the way to third floor (Many steps lol). Otherwise this is good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Value for money, location is great but quiet. Not for the party folk. But we had a good time. Staff is friendly and helpful and layed back. Guests were strange but the hostel can not choose guests. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed in a 6-bed mixed dorm for 9 nights. It was a good value except for on King's Day weekend, when prices more than doubled. Great location, I could find inexpensive breakfast or hop on the tram right across the street from the hotel. Also within a few blocks of the museum quarter, the Heinekin brewery and a nice canalside park. Great budget option for those traveling to Amsterdam who don't want to stay in the kitschy/more expensive hostels more north. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Beware, there's no elevator and the stairs are pretty steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leocie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is a budget hotel, and obviously not too fancy, but great for the money. Just 20 minutes walk into the centre, 5 minutes from the museum district, and close to lots of pretty canals as well. If you don't feel like walking, there is a tram stop right outside which goes into the centre. The location is pretty quiet, which is nice as we weren't looking for a party trip.

The service was very good too, they put us in a ground floor room because my partner is mobility-impaired. The room is nice enough, the bed was a little bit uncomfortable (and I usually don't notice these things), but not too bad.

Overall, for the price I would definitely recommend it if you're looking for private rooms (as opposed to hosteling it) but still on a tight budget!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Padrig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

this hostel is well located for a decent price, but the guy at the reception was very rude and wanted to charge us 100€ because we smoked one cigaret at the window ( 1 cigaret during all stay, with window open) and he started yelling at us and saying that we burned the balcony when it was obviously there before we arrived and you can see at first look that many people have been smoking in the room.
It's not the worse hotel ever but I didn't like the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo75005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed there march 7 - 9th and it was a great place to stay for 50euros each.
Best shower i've ever been in! extremely powerful and doesn't go from hot to cold.
Location wise, really good. lots of links to public transport, coffee shops near by, not far from dam square.

Padlocks cost 10euro
towels cost 1euro
and you also have to put a deposit down for the room key of 10euro

would come back

Room Tip: room 36 if there is 4 of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#302 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#139 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#213 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#268 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#160 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euphemia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euphemia Hotel

Property: Euphemia Hotel
Address: Fokke Simonszstraat 1-9, 1017 TD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Euphemia Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Euphemia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euphemia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing