We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good for a basic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Euphemia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Euphemia Hotel
Ranked #256 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good for a basic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

A good basic hotel that has a tram stop right out the front. Stayed in a double room which was dated but comfortable and clean. Staff were very nice and helpful. Stairs to get to the rooms were very steep and would be a worry/hard for some. Wifi was poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    57
    51
    26
    25
See reviews for
7
32
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vitória
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Good point: well located, close to the Heineken factory, Amsterdam is not so big, so you can walk everywhere.
But my room was terrible, small, there was a wall above my bad very dangerous. The room smelled old and not clean.
Definatelly not worth the money.

Room Tip: Choose one with the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I'd happily recommend this hotel - I stayed here for a few days in a double room with bathroom en-suite.

It's a basic hotel - but good value. The staff were very welcoming, the room and bathroom were clean and warm and there was endless hot water.

Only downside that the WiFi reception in my room was patchy - but no big deal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MEH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragelato, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hostel is quite nice. Located in a good area of town, within walking distance to most things. The beds are comfortable, our sheets/towels were clean (towels for 1 euro), and the desk staff was helpful. I would return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was a clean hostel with friendly, helpful staff. The location is really good - we managed to get everywhere we wanted to go in Amsterdam on foot without paying for expensive public transport. There is only 1 shower and 2 bathrooms on each floor, but this didn't seem to be a problem when we were there -- the hostel was nice and quiet. We stayed in a 5 bed dorm, which had a very convenient sink in it! Not sure if this would be the best place to meet other people, but if you're travelling in a group and aren't there to socialise, a very decent option. However, I'm sure the hostel would be busier in peak tourist times.

The biggest issue with this hostel is the stairs -- our room was up 2 flights of very narrow, steep stairs. Luckily we only had small bags, but if you're bringing a suitcase I'd recommend checking whether you can get a room on the ground floor, or looking somewhere else. Dragging a suitcase up those stairs would not be an enviable task.

Tip: check out all of the little cards located in a rack next to the staircase. It has deals for popular tourist attractions around Amsterdam, e.g. €2 off admission at a museum, a free postcard at this attraction, etc. If you're planning on going to some of these places anyway, it's definitely worth seeing if there's a deal on offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hostel is pretty inexpensive and in a great part of town. Easily a great place to discover the city by foot from. The dorms were fine. There are only two bathrooms and one shower on each floor, which is fine so long as you don't need to shower in a hurry. There is a very small common area off the lobby but it closes at night and it is difficult to meet fellow travelers at those place. Not a bad choice if you are just looking for a bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aylaread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I thought this hotel/hostel was quite good, I'm not sure of the other experiences here, I think they're a little harsh. We paid for a 6 bed dorm, but got upgraded to a 5, and half the time it was only us in there anyway, so it was pretty much private. Everything was clean and well organised, and the location is great, we walked everywhere, no need for bikes or trams.

The one shower and two bathrooms per floor was not an issue as they seemed to be empty all the time anyway, I think it must be a bit quiet on the tourist front after school holidays, approaching October.

No bedbugs for us, so I'm not sure if that's true or not.. My only issue is that my spring mattress was really squeaky, so I'd wake the room up everytime I rolled over at night. Everyone elses mattresses seemed ok.

Overall we felt like we got value for money, and would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OREO_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#300 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#135 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 795 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#211 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New West Inn Amsterdam
#160 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#288 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,664 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#74 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euphemia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euphemia Hotel

Property: Euphemia Hotel
Address: Fokke Simonszstraat 1-9, 1017 TD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Euphemia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euphemia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing