We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel Imperial” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #56 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel Imperial”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Not bad by Amsterdam standards- decent sized room with a comfy bed, plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space Location is fantastic if you want to be in the centre of things- Rembrandtsplein is lively and full of great bars and restaurants, and is close to all the other main attractions. We had a room on the front which was a little noisy until about 2 am but it didn't keep us awake. The inclusive breakfast at Hema around the corner is very basic but enough to keep us going. All in all a good place to stay, we had some good exercise climbing the stairs and slept well.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back quieter, second floor involves a lot of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    102
    38
    21
    17
See reviews for
22
135
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
athens
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The great thing about thiw hotel is it's location. Hotel Imperial is next the REMBRANDT place and pretty much near to everything in Amsterdam. The rooms are clean and comfortable without fancy furniture but really good enough to make your stay there pleasant. Also the hotel offers free internet. The negative points are : 1. expensive for what it offers 2. you can have breakfast in a building near the hotel 3. no elevator and the stairs difficult to climb 4. no good soundproof

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elenadia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend. We had rooms 15 & 16. Got to say room 16 was lovely!! Very comfy bed with great pillows and the jacuzzi shower was fab!
There are pubs and nightclubs outside but honestly couldn't hear alot at night.
Friendly staff, good location, worth the money

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
406 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

As a place to put your head down in between a rock and roll stay in The Dam it's fine. Good location & very basic but you haven't exactly paid a fortune have you? Don't pay for the hotel breakfast but breakfast outside in one of the many local cafes.

Oh. And book a room at the back if you want any kip!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookiemonster171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've been to Amsterdam a handful of times and I loved the location of this hotel. My husband and I (27 & 28 yrs old) stayed here for 3 nights. With Rembrandt square right outside there were many options for grabbing lunch/dinner or just a coffee. We loved the location because if you walk out the door to the right there was busy cafe's, grocery stores and bars. If you walked out to the left there were quiet side streets which is why we fell in love with Amsterdam in the first place.

The hotel does not offer breakfast, but what they do is if you go to HEMA (walk out the door to the right and take the 2nd street on the left it's along the left..3min walk) and get the 1.50 EUR breakfast and give the hotel the receipt they will reimburse you. It was a very good deal. For 1.50 EUR you got tea/coffee, a croissant and a baguette with egg in it. Plenty of food for breakfast. Also, I drink lots of water during a typical day so we started out buying 2 EUR waters at DH, but then one night I tried the tap water from our bathroom and it was just fine. I always get nervous drinking water from the tap in other countries, but the tap water is just fine to drink so save your money. Buy a bottle or two and just refill it in the room!

We had a room facing the back of the hotel on the top floor. We didn't mind walk up the stairs and it was pretty quiet facing the back. We could hear the thump of music from the front so I can't imagine how noisy the front is. All of the staff was very nice and on check in I asked if we faced the back and they said yes. So I joked that was good, I was hoping we would get a room facing the back and the man said we should have requested it. So by the sounds just email them and request the direction you want to have your room face.

One funny thing we did notice was the room was slanted. My husband pointed it out once we had been in the room for about 30mins, then that was all I could notice. It wasn't too bad, but we joked about it since we are big How I Met Your Mother fans and that is in the show.

Overall we loved the location, the hotel could do with a few upgrades, but it is nothing serious. the shower was a big small. I'd rather have a shower a few inches bigger than a jet shower that we didn't even use. We will stay here again for the location alone.

Room Tip: Room 21 faced the back. It was on the top floor so if stairs are an issue ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il Gzira, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

As a young couple (24-25) we looked for a good, clean hotel that was close to Amsterdam's nightlife and main attractions. This hotel fit that description perfectly.

The room was very clean and surprisingly spacious, and the staff was very friendly. Location is perfect, with the best clubs, bars, restaurants and city attractions within walking distance, or a small tram ride away (Tram stop very close to the hotel). Free wifi with a good connection is also available in the rooms.

Staying on the top floor did mean there were quite a few steps to climb, but we got used to them after a couple of days.

We had a very pleasant one week stay at this hotel, and will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_schembri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#182 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#180 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#213 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Property: Hotel Imperial
Address: Thorbeckeplein 9, 1017 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Imperial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, intimate hotel, located in the centre of Amsterdam on a picturesque traffic-free square, surrounded by restaurants and cafes and a short walk to museums and shopping. The hotel is cosy, comfortable and clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing