We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Leidseplein Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Dikker & Thijs Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Seven one Seven(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mozart Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel La Boheme(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Maas Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
12
42
64
40
152
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
42
64
40
152
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 310 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

First of all, Hostel Leidseplein is the worst hostel in the world, any other dump in the Red light district would have been better.the place is almost impossible to find. With only one small sign above the door. It's located above a nightclub ( which makes it impossible to sleep until 6 a.m.) as soon as you come in you get a really bad feeling, everything is ugly and old and the place smells veeeery bad. The staff is very rude and ignorant and they charge waaaay to much for the very poor service you get for it. The rooms are old and ugly as well. The bathroom is old, the shower hardly works and the drain is so bad that the bathroom is always very wet and dirty with hairs everywher. The breakfast includes some mouldy bread with jam or peanut butter... Not even worth waking up for. The staff thinks it normal to come in your room at 7 am without knocking on the door.. One night a guy peed on the floor in our room.. And not to forget the cat who's running around the room (it lives in the hostel and eats your food) one piece of advise DON'T GO THERE it's even worse than you can imagine.. never again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbingbottles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Bed bugs, dirty, smelly.. staff rude! When we saw that the bed linen were dirty reeking of VOMIT odor we asked to change, they said they change only once a week. their motto should be: HYGIENE why right? eww!!!
We slept one night without the duvet covers because we didnt know what to do..and guess what? bed bug bites all over our bodies! and we even heard mice noises all night!
No way to sleep here!!

So in the next morning the rudest ever manager (not Dutch) said he would change us to their sister hostel..
OMG! was even worse! even the staff smelled bad! NIGHTMARE!!
So we asked a refund, We insisted we wanted our money back. but he wouldnt give..(the own manager)!! he ripped us off in 300 euros!! (it was 50 euros each per night)

And no, 50 euro/night in this filthy noisy place is NOT cheap, we've payed 42 euros the night in the STAYOK hostel Vondelpark, which is the freaking Hilton close to this dump..

The sanitary laws should close down this place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ouicestmoi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Okay, so we booked this as a group of 6 boys for a holiday. we arrived at the door which was poorly signed, and rang the doorbell, after waiting 5 minutes and the door being opened by a GUEST we went upstairs. When we arrived there was a bald man with glasses on the computer and he didn't even acknowledge us. We told him we had a booking and he told us to sit down. After waiting over half an hour we discussed looking around for a better alternative, to which the bald mans ears perked up and he came over and said we could check in ( after paying the £300+ fee). We asked him to view the rooms before paying and he insisted we paid first. We started to walk to the door and he ran infront of us and blocked the door. He said he would call the police, which we replied we were law students, he then tried calling his friends down to stop us leaving. He also took my friends EUIC. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

First of all, this is a cheap hostel so I was not expecting much but I got even less. It's location is great and the rooms (I stayed in an 8 bed dorm) were fine although grimy. The problem with this hostel is the staff. I stayed for two nights ,on the second day a new person was moved into our room at the expense of someone who was still staying at the hostel. Expect to be juggled around for no reason if you are a single traveller.

This would have been fine and not affected me except the person who was moved into our dorm waited until everyone fell asleep before stealing my bag. This man checked in with no baggage, no clothing and simply lazed around the hostel all day eyeing up valuables. If I were a conspiracy theorist I'd believe the staff know more about this than they are letting on. When I reported my bag stolen the advice of the staff was that "This has never happened before", "We cannot do anything", "The CCTV has not been working for a month" and "We cannot call the police you must go to the police station."

If you are considering this hostel be extra vigilant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisFrank90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This place should be closed down - its 2013 and this is like a place out of the war. The service is horrendous. We paid £900 for 2nights in a 8man room - begged for a Fan and they laughed at us. Beds and pillows arent good enough for prisons. Forced us to pay cash as well - must be a tax dodge there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadsterBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews