We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, large room for four”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Ranked #203 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Oxford, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect location, large room for four”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We needed a room for one night and for four people. This was the spot! This hotel is right across the street from Amsterdam Centraal, so we did not have to drag our bag far! We arrived early so our room was not ready. It was not a problem to leave our things in the holding room. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We walked for hours before actually going to our room. The room was nothing special, but it did sleep four comfortably and we never felt cramped in this room. The bathroom is spacious and sufficient. We opened the windows just to soak up Amsterdam. The street noise comes through anyway, but it eventually quiets down way late in the night. Breakfast was included and decent; good selection of items. We left our bags and shopping items here after we checked out to tour some more and did not have a problem losing anything. We enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KnJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    246
    144
    54
    49
See reviews for
94
121
71
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

You get what you pay for. Rooms are clean. Stairs are steep so be careful. Staff are friendly and welcoming. Nothing spectacular about the Prins Hendrik but it's a decent hotel in a good spot. You can make the mistake of staying around this area when there are other great places to visit further afield. A good spot for a group of friends they do great large rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nim078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

A short away from Amsterdam Central Station and you arrived to a warm welcome from the staff at the reception.Checking in with no fuss , you dump your bags and can immediately explore the city.
Room was basic but the breakfast was great to start the day.

Room Tip: Nice Location, room basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yahya664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here twice once in hotel and once in apartment both times were really good right in the heart of dam gd size rooms without to much noise by time u want your bed!! Both times no complaints about smoking( the gd stuff ) has to b one of the easyest hotels to find in dam wouldn't stay anywhere else!!!! Slightly more expensive than a few nearby but with breakfast and less travelling works out ok :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Agreed, central Amsterdam accommodation is overpriced and often cramped and one knows that beforehand. If you are considering staying at this hotel, chances are that you would choose it for its location right across the central station and not for its comforts or room quality. In spite of knowing all of the above, this hotel cannot get a good recommendation from me. The room on the first floor, station side, was very noisy, dusty and the interior was dull and outdated. In addition, the hotel facilities, lift and stairs are uncomfortably cramped. Service was decent but the value overall was below par.

Room Tip: Try a room higher up and away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eberor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for our honeymoon, we where just looking for somewhere central to stay central to the station and what a gem the hotel is ! We got a warm welcome and congratulations from the guy on reception which was nice, the room was cozy but a bit warm and noisy from outside but we where not fussed :) the breakfast was fine but the coffee was a bit on the nasty side. We enjoyed our stay and you get what you pay for !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayngrazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#228 of 368 in Amsterdam
439 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#69 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,035 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#178 of 368 in Amsterdam
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#141 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,322 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#60 of 368 in Amsterdam
927 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Hotel De Koopermoolen
#235 of 368 in Amsterdam
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prins Hendrik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prins Hendrik

Property: Hotel Prins Hendrik
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 53, 1012 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prins Hendrik 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Prins Hendrik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prins Hendrik Hotel
Prins Hendrik Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing