We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always soooooo happy to be back at the Rho Hotel”
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #134 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Always soooooo happy to be back at the Rho Hotel”
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I've lost count of how many times I've stayed at this very central Hotel.
Returning this weekend and being greeted at check in with "Welcome home!" was so lovely.
The Hotel is ultra clean, and very comfortable. Despite Amsterdam being 'party central', I had undisturbed nights. Breakfast - buffet style - is fab.
The location of the Hotel is perfect for public transportation and for exploring this lovely city on foot.
I have stayed at other hotels in Amsterdam, including one which is much, much more expensive - but simply wouldn't think of being anywhere other than the Rho for all future visits.
Lighting-speed free wi fi access in the rooms and the stunning foyer is a bonus.

Two thumbs up, high in the air!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perpetuatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    1,226
    445
    101
    66
See reviews for
335
1,034
127
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Took my wife to Amsterdam for her fortieth without the babies :-). Excellent location just off Dam Square but down a side road so very little noise. 3 stars = good size room for Amsterdam with accomodation of Travelodge standards in the Uk plus a cracking breakfast included in a very competitive price.Staff were courteous and helpful only thing that would help is tea and coffee in rooms but having a fridge in the room was very useful. If you are after good value accomodation in a excellent location give the Rho a look.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveevee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I stayed here for three nights which I booked through the hotel website at hoteliers.com. As stated, the hotel is a short walk from the train station, down to Dam Square and then in a side street off it. I was asked if I wanted a quiet room and as requested we were given a large room on the top floor towards the back. The room was clean, toiletries provided, with plain decor. There was a tv and in room safe and fridge. The bathroom was clean and had a shower over the bath. Although it was October, the room was warm and comfortable. Breakfast next morning was more than adequate, self service, with a small selection of hot food as well as cold meats, cheeses, yogurt, fruit, cereal and pastries. Staff at reception were excellent, with good suggestions for nearby restaurants and activities. The location was very near to the tram lines and to canal cruise boats, as well as at the top of the Red Light district - not as seedy as it sounds, we always felt very safe along the main street of it and in fact, ate in a restaurant along there one evening. For a short stay, this really was a perfect choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I stayed at the Rho hotel with my 2 sisters from 29th Sept to 3rd October on the 3rd floor. My sisters had a large twin bedded room which they were very happy with and I had a single room which was very nice, it had a bed that could have been used as a double and was very comfortable. In the room was a flat screen TV 2 chairs a small glass topped table and a writing table/desk and small stool also a wardrobe and a place to put the cases . The bathroom was spotless and it had a bath and shower over the bath also a toilet and wash basin + I got 2 bath towels and 2 hand towels. There was always plenty of hot water available. One of the reasons we picked the hotel was for its central position and breakfast was included in the price. There was always a cooked breakfast of bacon, scrambled eggs and I suppose what we would call in England drop scones and savoury rice. Plenty of cereals, fresh and tinned fruit, butter and jams, and a selection of sliced cheese and meats. Coffee/tea with a choice of fresh or condensed milk.
There was some minus points the bedside lights were not very bright if you like to read in bed before you go to sleep and if it got very busy at breakfast and you went to get anything extra the table was cleared while you were away and given to someone else.
There was plenty of places to eat out but I think my best meal was at an Argentinian steak house. I think it was probably the best steak I have ever had.
The reason we went to Holland was to take my mothers ashes to be interred in my fathers grave at the Oosterbeek cemetery at Arnhem so it was a sad/happy trip. Dad was only 26 when he was killed on 1st October 1944 mum died aged 90 in June this year

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe_Peddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

great location - bars; coffee shops, restaurants all around......great staff - no issues during check-in and check-out ...friendly staff who always were more than happy to help you as to how you could reach a certain location... you can hire cycles from the hotel itself...the breakfast is good...but repetitive (i think all the 3 days we had exactly the same menu)...
small rooms but had all the basic necessaties...perfect value for money hotel (please note that its not a plush or a swanky hotel - its a basic hotel - you pay more for the location and a good hotel specially if you dont intend to spend too much time in the room)...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaimumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

The room we had was pretty standard. It was quiet, relatively roomy with basic furniture.
Very good location in the centre of town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandMtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Over in Amsterdam on a two day jolly, so I chose The Rho hotel for it's location.
Reading some of the previous reviews I guess some people are a bit pernickety.
Checked in by a courteous Algerian gentleman, no problems, room 433 very clean and extremely comfortable bed, ideal for one person. Did not see any mice and the water was hot, previous comments.
Reception staff very knowledgeable on buses, trams and trains. In fact on my way out in the evening, as it was raining, I was offered a brolly, but turned it down because of the wind.
The breakfast was better than some of the five star hotels that I have stayed in, on business,excellent value.
If I had to make any negatives, then being typically English, tea/coffee facilities in the room would have been nice. Secondly, as with many hotels, there seemed to be a lack of security. Anyone can walk in off the street and have breakfast as no checks are made for name or room number.
Would I stay in the Rho hotel again? yes.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#135 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,026 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#168 of 368 in Amsterdam
495 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
610 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#184 of 368 in Amsterdam
800 reviews
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#140 of 368 in Amsterdam
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Property: Rho Hotel
Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing