We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“MUST SEE EXCELLENT HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #141 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“MUST SEE EXCELLENT HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

Excellent Hotel. This was our 6th time staying in the hotel and once again we could not have had a better stay. This was our first time to use one of the suites but it definately won't be our last. The suites are extremely large and more than I have come to expect for the price we paid compared to other one bed apartments we have used previously while in Amsterdam. Another bonus I personally experienced was that we have a balcony adjoining our suite which we could use for smoking instead of the usual trek outside the building.

Will definately be booking our next trip to Rho Hotel Suites very soon......

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janjomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    1,072
    393
    87
    64
See reviews for
288
880
115
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Logan,UT
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Like any major city, hotels in Amsterdam seem pricey by US standards (NYC excepted). So the Rho, which we found via rigorous internet search seemed "reasonable," We spent 6 nights at the facility and we're very pleased. The facility is clean, the rooms were a good size and the breakfast was varied, extensive and tasty. The staff were extremely helpful and we made heavy use of their knowledge of the city. The hotel is 10" from the train station and even closer to subway and tram stops. The transportation system in the Netherlands is superb, even for non-bicyclists.There are numerous restaurants around the Rho ranging in price and focus.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidLancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We booked this hotel because of its central location and the mini-fridge in every room. We were pretty much disappointed with everything after we left as we felt it could have been done better.

The location is as good as it can get, right on the Dam square but in a tiny side street so there is very little street noise. However this means that it is very hard to get by car to the front of the hotel, not even the taxi could do it.

The reception service was good, we got our keys right away and used the elevator to get to the first floor, only to discover that it has three levels which could pose a problem for disabled people, or when carrying heavy luggage. One level has stairs, and the other has a ramp that is pretty dangerous to walk on.

The rooms are of decent size, but the sound proofing is horrible. The floor is wooden under the carpet and every step makes the entire room shake. The walls are paper thin and you will hear every step your neighbors take.
The bathroom has no air ventilation and this was pretty horrible.
They don't even put an air freshener in there. You are forced to open the room windows every time someone visits the bathroom and with the cold October air this was not a pleasant experience.
The main light switch controls the electricity running the two bedside lamps which means you cannot have one open without opening the main light. You can't even use the socket to charge your electronic devices at night (there are no free sockets, just the TV and the fridge's)

The breakfast was pretty good, good variety and service.

A thing we found to be pretty unsafe, the signs leading to the emergency staircase point to the wrong door. At least two signs we saw on our floor.

Overall we would not recommend this hotel to anyone that is sensitive to noise or smell.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yatzpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Rooms fantasic, great location, clean, helpful, wonderful breakfast, honest, helpful, considerate staff, just a wonderful stay, cant fault the place have stayed twice and will not be staying anywhere else from now on.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fraser_a3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mur-de-Barrez, France
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We only stayed one night. The staff were excellent and very helpful, the room was clean and functional and we made use of their garage which is a rare thing in Amsterdam. We enjoyed our breakfast in the morning, but there were a couple of things that annoyed us. The room had a damp stain on the ceiling and it would seem that there is not much soundproofing between rooms. We had a room above us that appeared to have a guest who had to get out of bed every few minutes, stomp around and then seemed to move the furniture about!! Not the fault of the Hotel but annoying to a customer. The lift which was quite close to us was fairly noisy as well.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

We were in Amsterdam for a business show and were pleasantly surprised by this gem. Great location and just yards from Dam Square, the tram stop and only a few blocks from the Central Train station. Dam Square is close to great restaurants and attractions. The rooms were clean and the staff was helpful. Breakfast was included and the food was good. Being so close to Dam Square we thought it might be noisy but it was surprisingly quiet. This is not a luxury hotel, so don't expect Turkish towels. The beds are small (but comfortable and clean) and some of the rooms are quite small. There are only a few amenities in the room (so bring your own water to the hotel each night.) You can not go wrong for the price and the location. We will definitely stay there again next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JordanLind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

I visited Amsterdam with my husband and parents, and we stayed at the Rho Hotel. The staff were wonderful, the rooms were clean, large and very comfortable, the breakfast was excellent. Just off Dam Square, so very central for reaching the central sites.
A very enjoyable stay.
I must say again ..... the staff at the hotel were excellent and couldn't do enough to ensure our comfort. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandGalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#188 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#143 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#165 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#46 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#105 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#131 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Property: Rho Hotel
Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing