We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful for first time visitors” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #137 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful for first time visitors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed in the Rho Hotel for my first trip to Amsterdam, myself and a few other girlfriends booked the Rho Hotel alongside our ferry booking, as the hotel was DFDS recommended.
Our arrival at the hotel was warmly greeted by very friendly staff, and our room was very nice, clean, with comfortable beds and pillows, and a television, fan, fridge all included with plenty of storage space and a spacious bathroom with plenty of towels and soaps.
We hadn't realise just how central the hotel is in Amsterdam, it is right in Dam square, taking us only minutes to walk to main attractions and the lovely canal-side restaurants and cafe's.
The included breakfast was wonderful, plenty of choice for both cooked and continental breakfasts and everything was delicious.
All in all a very very pleasing stay, we will most definitely be returning to the Rho Hotel the next time we visit Amsterdam

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    1,111
    406
    90
    65
See reviews for
298
921
118
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Have enjoyed staying at the Rho Hotel. Certainly it's not a 4 Star hotel as far as facilities go....no tea/coffee maker in room, for a double bed we have two single beds placed next to each other made up as two single beds. While not great it's not the end of the world. Other things make up for it though....free wifi in each room, a great breakfast and friendly staff. The best feature is it's location....adjacent to Dam Square and the central Amsterdam area. Quite a comfortable place in which to stay. You could certainly do a lot worse.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a short break to Amsterdam and once again We stayed at the RHO. It's right behind Dam Square so it is so convenient for all the shopping, restaurants and attractions. We requested a double room rather than a twin (not always the easiest thing to have) and our room was lovely. It was compact but it was clean, comfortable and ,being at the back of the hotel, it was quiet. I had the best nights sleep I've had in ages.The buffet breakfast is amazing. There is something for everybody. The staff are lovely too. always polite. We will definitely stay here again when we go back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbeedee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We've stayed at the Rho many times over the last few years, with our last stay from 22nd-27th June. It is a good hotel, and reasonable value for money. The rooms are decently sized, and the buffet breakfast is fairly extensive, but there are not a lot of healthy eating options - the fruit salad, for example, is tinned, and there's a lot of pre-packaged stuff, but there's certainly enough on offer to avoid hunger during the day. They've been gradually upgrading the hotel over the years, and it is now much better than it used to be. The housekeeping/cleaning is not as thorough as it used to be and they're not very good at routinely changing sheets and towels, and replacing toiletries. The rooms are nonetheless clean. The reception staff are very friendly and efficient, and really do fall over themselves to be helpful. Top marks there.
The real plus of the hotel is its location - it is bang in the centre - just off Dam Square, and only about 10 minutes walk from Central Station, and in easy reach of most of the Amsterdam attractions, ranging from the major museums to the humble coffee shops. Despite its central location, noise is generally not a problem. Amsterdam is an easy city to walk around, and the Rho is probably no more than half-an-hour's walk from anywhere you'd want to visit, but there are trams galore if you don't fancy the walk, and bikes are cheap to hire.
This is a good hotel to stay in, and I'd recommend it for a visit to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Get a corner room at the back of hotel - say 108 (?) or higher floor equivalents, where you get two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

I haven't been to Amsterdam for years and it was my wife's first visit so the Rho was a bit of a gamble.
The location can't be faulted, being in the corner of Dam Square and only 10 minutes walk from Central Station.
The hotel has a very impressive foyer and every member of the reception staff we came into contact with could not be faulted in terms of competence and overall attitude. Breakfasts were buffet style with a good selection from fruit to eggs and bacon.
Our room was at the front of the hotel and was perfectly acceptable, if a little on the small side. It was very clean, though, and that was the main issue for us.
Complaints/criticisms? Only one and that wasn't exactly the hotel's fault. There was building work across the street from our room and the hammering/drilling started at 06.30! They might have warned us!
Otherwise a very positive recommendation for this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are apparently slightly larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulwoj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Clean and very reasonably priced, but the lack of ventilation in the bedrooms is a problem in warm weather. The corridors are air conditioned, but not the rooms. There is a window to open, but this lets in the noise and the mossies! I ended up with several bites. The rate includes breakfast and there is a very generous choice available. Recommended for travellers who want location on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

A quiet location right off Dam Square makes this ideal for getting to just about anywhere by foot or tram. Rooms are a little bedraggled in the European fashion--limited lighting, no AC--but clean and nicely-sized, with actual hot water and comfy beds. Good full breakfast and helpful desk staff. Do ask for a room in the courtyard or the rear, away from the street, if quiet is important to you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#193 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#172 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#50 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Property: Rho Hotel
Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing