We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #129 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is quite average but clean and in a super location. The staff were mixed, some highly friendly but some quite curt. The breakfast was plentiful and sets you up for the day ahead. Overall, I would probably stay here again as the location is a winner.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Sinéad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

707 - 713 of 2,462 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed two nights in the Rho, and would not hesitate to book again. The hotel is so convenient to the train station, literally walk out of station and take road straight in front, 10 minute walk to Dam Square and hotel sign is right there in the corner to see. Reception very friendly and asked if we would like a quiet room, which we did. This was on the 4th floor, (not a problem with the lift). First impression of room was small, but just because it was narrow and long, however as we were only going to be spending minimal time there it was more than adequate, clean and bright with two skylight windows. Fridge and safe in the room. If I had to complain about anything it would be the softness of the bed, both prefer a firm mattress, but a small price to pay. The breakfast was available until 10.30 which meant there was no need to rush down and the food was constantly topped up. Free wi fi available. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We have just visited Amsterdam for a short break and stayed at the RHO hotel, we had a top floor room which included a bath. The hotel is perfectly situated just off of Dam Square. All the staff were extremely helpful including reception, cleaners and breakfast room. The breakfast was good and plentiful and continually topped up giving you both hot and cold options. A very good choice for a few days in Amsterdam. Catching the train from the Airport to Central Station was very easy (4 Euros each way per person), the hotel is then a ten minute walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a fourth floor room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NEIL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I attended a convention in the nearby NH Krasnapolsky, a very pricey hotel right in the center of Amsterdam. Since I was alone and was not willing to spend all that money just to sleep, I looked around for an alternative and found Rho. The building is pretty old, but maintenance is pretty good. Prices were very affordable, and there was a continental breakfast included in my rate. Front desk and service in general were outstanding. I'd stay there again and recomend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vteixeira66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is in a great location, literally you can walk to central station and everywhere else,,, good wi fi, staff helpful, comfortable and clean beds..........

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The location is brilliant - very close to Dam Square and easy access to other parts of the city as well as some excellent restaurants. However, the walls are pretty thin, the shower was only just adequate and the breakfast was average (the scrambled egg looked particularly unappetizing). On the plus side though, the staff were very helpful, the beds were comfy & clean and our room on the 4th floor was quiet. Also the wifi is free.
We would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors down the side street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill3154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights on our trip to Amsterdam. The hotel is a good price, and is literally right in the middle of Dam Square! Amazing, amazing location. Yes, it is no hilton. However, this hotel has many positives: in room free wifi, super comfortable beds, and a lovely full breakfast is included. My friend and I were by far the only 20-somethings staying here at the time. With that being said, I am very well travelled and know many lovely hotels. This is a good deal and right around the corner from De Wallen and other nightlife! I also like that the hotel has a bike rental shop right across the street. It's also only about a 15-20 min walk from Anne Frank House.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jessicav85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#159 of 373 in Amsterdam
515 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#122 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,061 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#197 of 373 in Amsterdam
494 reviews
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#142 of 373 in Amsterdam
856 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Address: Nes 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $154 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing