We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION LOCATION” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rho Hotel to your Saves list
Rho Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“LOCATION LOCATION”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

lots I didn't care for as a group of 8, we were not accommodate to sit together for breakfast altho they had plenty of room and their reason to much trouble to move the tables, as the table could get damaged!!!! but they took our booking of 8!! did they not think we would want to sit together, skimpy towels, and sachet type shower gel, the power shower was awful I had forgotten my adaptor, they didn't have a spare, the bar was never open, in 3 days we tried to use the bars pre dinner drinks, afternoon drinks and , after dinner drinks, not open at the moment, they told us!! well when are you open?, but it was the security that raised alarm bells, we asked for 4 sets of keys and was handed them all, and we had asked for a wrong room set,but was given them , so we could have gone to that room and stolen what ever we liked, so my tip, NEVER hand in your keys at reception, till u leave, also the store baggage room, was never ever locked, and this is Amsterdam for goodness sake, but the location was brilliant, the rooms was ok, clean, roomy and comfy, as long as you know to keep your key, and recheck your packed bag before flying, should be ok.

Room Tip: 321 was quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spirited74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kingston Ontario
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We arrived around 9 am from an overnight flight and were immediately greeted by friendly receptionists...and our room was ready!!
It was on the second floor, and I asked for quiet, so we looked onto a 'courtyard' of a plant and some machinery.. who cares?
The beds were comfortable and the shower adequate with good water pressure.
The breakfast is always good.... buffet with as much as you can eat.
The staff who work on the front are great.. friendly, always willing to talk and answer questions and suggest where to eat.
This is our second visit to Amsterdam and both times we have stayed at this hotel. I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else, it is good value for your money and of course the location can't be beat!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I've stayed here before around 1.5yrs ago. Nothing has changed which is a good thing. Couldn't be closer to all the attractions. Clean rooms that are cleaned everyday and a really good breakfast buffet. To be honest you couldn't want anything else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amandamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Have stayed at Rho Hotel 4 times now and it gets better each time. Most recent stay was Thursday 20 February 2014 - Saturday 22 February. Excellent central location. Easy from station - 10 minute walk. You can get everywhere from here - we prefer the quiet side of Amsterdam - the canals and the Jordaan and this hotel is well placed to explore all. Rooms are fresh, clean and the beds really comfy. Have stayed in front and back rooms but find them all quite quiet.

Breakfast is varied and plentiful so good to stock up for a day's exploring. Stay here, you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in feb. It was our first trip to Amsterdam so we wanted somewhere central to stay and we got it. Location is excellent as right on Dam Sq.
We found the staff to be very helpful and courteous, they had no problem recommending places to go or things to see. Breakfast was included. To be honest I wasn't expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed it each morning.
I would most definately stay here again upon return to Amsterdam.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My partner & I checked in here Fri 14th Feb - Sun 16th Feb, paid a good price for 2 nights bed & breakfast. Excellent location right on Dam Square, very easy to spot from Damrak.
Hotel entrance & reception is of a big space & offers a lot of seating area. Check in was speedy & friendly, given a room on 2nd floor 236, over looking an alley in the next street. That was fine with us as we only slept in the room. Room very clean & equipped with essentials, beds extremely comfortable and decor was bright & modern. Breakfast in the hotel is plentiful with different choices & all buffet style so can help yourself.
Would certainly recommend this hotel & we are planning a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clairek28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Excellent in all aspects, stayed here for 2 nights with our two teenagers (had 2 rooms next to each other on the first floor) in late January. Arrived early but the room was ready and from the lovely welcome to storing our bags for 10 hours on the day of departure everything was great. Clean and warm, good breakfast and excellent reception staff who where so helpful with great sightseeing advice and ticket info and local area knowledge. You couldn't better the location - right on Dam Square basically and we have already recommended to friends and will be telling our travel agent as this was a hotel we had sourced ourselves using Trip Advisor! We will certainly stay here again thanks team RHO.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pommiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#149 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#147 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing