We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend ”
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #134 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommend ”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in feb. It was our first trip to Amsterdam so we wanted somewhere central to stay and we got it. Location is excellent as right on Dam Sq.
We found the staff to be very helpful and courteous, they had no problem recommending places to go or things to see. Breakfast was included. To be honest I wasn't expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed it each morning.
I would most definately stay here again upon return to Amsterdam.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    1,212
    441
    101
    66
See reviews for
331
1,023
126
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My partner & I checked in here Fri 14th Feb - Sun 16th Feb, paid a good price for 2 nights bed & breakfast. Excellent location right on Dam Square, very easy to spot from Damrak.
Hotel entrance & reception is of a big space & offers a lot of seating area. Check in was speedy & friendly, given a room on 2nd floor 236, over looking an alley in the next street. That was fine with us as we only slept in the room. Room very clean & equipped with essentials, beds extremely comfortable and decor was bright & modern. Breakfast in the hotel is plentiful with different choices & all buffet style so can help yourself.
Would certainly recommend this hotel & we are planning a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clairek28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Excellent in all aspects, stayed here for 2 nights with our two teenagers (had 2 rooms next to each other on the first floor) in late January. Arrived early but the room was ready and from the lovely welcome to storing our bags for 10 hours on the day of departure everything was great. Clean and warm, good breakfast and excellent reception staff who where so helpful with great sightseeing advice and ticket info and local area knowledge. You couldn't better the location - right on Dam Square basically and we have already recommended to friends and will be telling our travel agent as this was a hotel we had sourced ourselves using Trip Advisor! We will certainly stay here again thanks team RHO.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pommiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

choose this hotel because my husband was here when he was young with his childhood friend, the hotel is very central and you can walk everywhere..located right at the Dam Square...the only downside was, we walked to the red light district and around in search for a restaurant and we were stoned because of the strong smell of whatever they smoke there in amsterdam...anyway, we really enjoy our short stay and will be back

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BanThaiMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Ideally situated in a quiet street in the centre of Amsterdam within walking distance of all forms of transport (including bus tours, walking tours and canal trips) for comprehensive sightseeing. Easy access to many of the sights, shops and hundreds of restaurants and bars. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The beds are extremely comfortable and breakfast is varied and plentiful with platters replenished up til 10.30.
We were a party of 10 and no-one had any complaints.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the central courtyard are completely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinnerSinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Short retrospective October 2012: We stayed here when visiting Amsterdam for a Keane gig at the Heineken Music Hall (nice modern music venue next to the Ajax stadium, short train journey where the stadium/venue are right next to the train station, by design, along with ashopping and restaurants etc)

Rho is central, rooms were clean and comfortable and bed/shower was fine. We were attracted by the Art Deco billing but this is simply the reception area, our room was in an added section, which was a bit of a dark and dreary walk from the Art Deco airy bright recepetion area.

Breakfast was very basic, and we had only pancakes and coffee, filter coffee percolator jugs on heated servers were replenished frequently, I would say this is one of the best hotel coffees I have drank (but a matter of personal taste).

The staff made this stay for us as we got our concert tickets delivered to the hotel and they helped us solve a slight problem on that front, they were very friendly and helpful, and I'm not sure that I thanked them properly at the time...which I'm doing now!

I would dtay again, and certainly if you want a central location reasonably close to Amsertdam Centraal. The hotel is on Dam Square on the edge of the red light district but nothing in your face in the immediate vicinity. We did not venture in that direction, but Dam Square itself has a very busy touristic hustle and bustle, and if your looking there is visual evidence of male parties heading to/from that direction. I never felt unsafe walking to/from the hotel.

I would stay again if I needed an inexpensive central location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamthel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have a very bad experience, without actually staying in the hotel.
I cancelled my reservation (was a no cost reservation) because I have found much better accommodation at a lower price. In the same day, the hotel preauthorised my credit card, and blocked an amount actually higher than the cost of one night. The fact is: it's been almost one months since then, and the amount is still blocked, although I have had some exchange of emails with the hotel on the subject and they have assured me that it will take maximum 3 weeks to solve this. I consider this an abuse, since I am prevented for using my own money, for which I pay charges to the bank.
So... beware.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dienuta05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#136 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,017 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#110 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#166 of 367 in Amsterdam
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#62 of 367 in Amsterdam
579 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#184 of 367 in Amsterdam
794 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#66 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Property: Rho Hotel
Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing