We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsecured” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #136 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cairo Governorate, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unsecured”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

It is unsecured hotel since the whole safe which was inside my room had been stolen at the time when I was out of the hotel !!! In addition to my laptop and other valuable stuff.

Moreover ,the manager of the hotel told us that they are not responsible for this incident !!!! although the room's door was not broken !!!

TAKE CARE

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank wgamalm9283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    1,033
    375
    85
    61
See reviews for
268
843
114
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Friendly desk staff and cleaners; good cooked breakfast; helpful staff; good clean room for one (single traveller). Will definitely come back - pity no evening restaurant, but spoiled for choice nearby - The Lobby is five minutes walk away

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

It is difficult for me to properly evaluate this hotel as it was great for some aspects and poor for others. Therefore, I prefer to make a list of pros and cons.

Pros:
- "5-star" location
- rooms were very clean
- excellent breakfast
- computer and printer freely available in the hall of the hotel
- hotel staff was very kind

Cons:
- my room was extremely noisy starting from 7am
- in my room the Wi-fi signal was so weak that very often there was no possibility to connect to internet at all
- my room was very cold and there was no possibility to increase the temperature inside it
- turning off the light of the room automatically turn off all plugs in the room; thus there was no possibility to charge electronic devices during the night

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great location just 2 minutes from Dam Square. Lovely large airy lobby. The bedrooms although comfortable could do with some updating. The staff were wonderful and could not do enough to advise on restaurants and such.
Free Wifi another great advantage.
Breakfast was surprisingly good with a great selection of warm and hot dishes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicudatchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel really is my me away from home.
Such lovely staff... And great value, in such a central location.
Great to have free wifi in the bedroom, and the buffet breakfast is always delicious and plentiful.
Though Amsterdam is such a lively city, I had three nights of totally undisturbed sleep.
As always, two thumbs, high in the air, for the Rho!

Room Tip: If you prefer a bath to a shower, ask for that before arrival. I have never had a 'noisy' ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perpetuatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I booked online for two nights at the Rho hotel with my husband and 3 adult children, and had several requirements. 1) Not to expensive since we were booking 3 rooms 2) Secure parking available since we were traveling through Europe by car and 3) Central location to Dam Square, Flower Market, Red Light District and shopping...I have mobility issues and cannot walk far, so wanted to make sure I could get back to the hotel and make sure everyone else had lots of places to explore on their own and 4) Elevator...I was warned lots of hotels near the center had narrow staircases to the floors, and I would have problems with that. This had everything I required.

This was not the cheapest hotel, but was the best price for a hotel that met all my needs.There is underground hotel parking, so I didn't have to worry about being parked on the street. (It's also near the train station, which I will keep in mind for the future when I don't need to travel by car!) It has a superb location...it's right on Dam Square, close to all the shops and cafés, walking distance to Red Light District, Rembrandt Square, Flower Market, and the flea market. The reception area is huge and warm, and the staff were friendly, recommending places to go. Even the maid was friendly, telling our kids the best bars to go to! They all speak English very well.

The breakfast was buffet style with English breakfast options and had the chocolate spread and chocolate sprinkles I love on my toast! The rooms were average size but clean and comfortable...and I was very happy to choose the room that had a walk in shower! All our rooms had 2 single beds, my son thought his was small but to be fair he is 6'4".

I would definitely recommend this to friends and next time I'm in Amsterdam, this is the hotel I would choose to stay in again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarana919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here (in room 490) on a 5 day visit to the city for pleasure in the beginning of November 2013. We booked online and also emailed the hotel and always had a friendly response. The hotel is a bit like a tardis from the outside, but so big inside.

The room was comfortable, clean and warm which is important when you have 3 days of heavy rain. We spent some time in the foyer just chatting and drinking coffee from the machine. The staff are extremely knowledgeable and friendly especially Tania, who was always willing to help, as were all the staff.

The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had, there was a good variety to choose from hot or continental.

One of the best things was the situation of the hotel, it is just off Dam Square and central to anything, we didn't use one tram while we were there.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family and we will hopefully visit again in the next year. Definitely value for money.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pjkujawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#171 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#185 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#138 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#106 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#122 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 672 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#48 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Property: Rho Hotel
Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing