We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient place”
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #130 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at Rho hotel in June for 3 nights. We were very impressed with the service and the staff. Though the check-in time was 12.00 but they allowed early check-in at 9.00 along with breakfast. We found the location very convenient and close to Dam square. There was Wi-fi in the room and the breakfast was nice. I would truly recommend this place to my friends.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Muzumdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,408)
There are newer reviews for Rho Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 2,408 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

I've been lucky enough to visit Amsterdam a few times, we stayed in the Rho Hotel back in February 2013. The hotel itself is pretty clean and comfortable, the bar isn't really anything to write home about, but due the amazing location (literally in Dam Square), it wasn't an issue! The staff were very attentive and relaxed. Breakfast is a little limited, but on a lads weekend, it didn't really matter! The staff are happy to look after you bags for the day after you check out which was very helpful for us, to make the most from our last day.

The location is probably the best thing about staying here. Having stayed outside of the city before, it can be a bit of pain getting to where all the action is. From the Rho, anything you could want from a trip in Amsterdam, is about a 5 minute walk away. Competitive prices for those who don't want to rough it in a hostel, and the location is perfect for a messy weekend bender! Recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

What a fantastic location this Hotel is in, just behind Dam square ,it is close to shops , restuarants, railway station, trams whatever you could want. The staff here are fantastic and nothing was any trouble to them at all.The breakfast was really nice, plenty of choices and plenty to have.And the lovely big bath was a trat to soak in after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayse63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the Rho hotel at the begining of June, the location was great we could walk to many places, we bought a 2 day transit pass, as suggested by the very helpful people at the front desk. This was a great investment, we went all over, also as suggested we walked the Jordann area of Amsterdam on Sunday morning very beautiful area and well worth the effort.
The hotel it's self is not new but for the price and location, it can't be beat.
We had a room on the forth floor, which was again suggested by the desk staff, very quiet room which overlooked the inner courtyard, again the rooms are not new but clean and adequate for our stay, there is a small fridge in the room, and a safe.
The breakfast was excellent and included in the price, which was very reasonable for a European city.

Room Tip: Get an inside room on the higher floors especialy on the weekend, it can get noisy in Dam square.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnuts58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

You could not ask for a more convenient touring location, just a matter of feet from the Dam Square city center. We checked in hours before the official time and they accommodated us. We asked for quiet rooms, so we didn't have a view, but the peaceful sleep was well worth it. The staff, excepting one gentleman, were very friendly and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patinca29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

It has been said by many before but the key to this place is location which is beyond excellent. You will find this hotel no matter how late you get back. Staff are perfectly adequate but a bit on the formal side. We stayed on the top floor and II would recommend this as you are up above the rooftops of this very pretty part of Amsterdam Bathroom was great only downside was the walls were a bit thin. Also the Breakfast was a lot better that some of the reviews here led be to believe it would be.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Insanefountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Have just come back from a stay here. Hotel is very centrally located right off dam sq. Rooms are a decent size, clean and comfortable if a little noisy. Offers secure on site parking for ?35 per day. Would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit

Thank Thaliaf23
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#128 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,042 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#69 of 371 in Amsterdam
651 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#165 of 371 in Amsterdam
500 reviews
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#139 of 371 in Amsterdam
829 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#189 of 371 in Amsterdam
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $159 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing