We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Great Hotel in Amsterdam”
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #135 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a Great Hotel in Amsterdam”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here previously so know what to expect . Its in a great location for getting about, great rooms and great staff . In the room was a safe tv and fridge . WIFI is good was in fourth floor and never had a problem connecting . Next time back it will be here .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    1,203
    436
    98
    65
See reviews for
327
1,012
124
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I visited amsterdam and this hotel was suggested to me as it was close to the red lights district. The hotel in itself was ok but a few things could have made it a bit more welcoming. The corridors were quite dark and the room had a misty smell. The heating was ot working but this was dealt with very quickly. You had easy access to loads of restaurants around and it was a 15minutes walk from the main station. Breakfast was not bad and the rooms were cleaned everyday. I personally found it a bit pricey but then all the guess that was in there were or looked decent people.

Room Tip: If there something wrong let them know and they will sort it out
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadasiven a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Very small room, with just the most basic furniture plus a small fridge (that wasn't working). The bed was okay, if a bit too soft. Didn't hear any mouse during the night but they seem to be remodelling the place so at 8 am people started banging the walls making it impossible so sleep longer. Very nice buffet breakfast. The location is perfect, only 7 minutes walking from the central station.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baianointheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on the 10th feb for 3 nights this is the second time I've stayed here and I love this hotel so I always come back. It's cheap,spotlessly clean,nice breakfast and the staff are fantastic so helpfull and friendly.all this and the best bit is the location right bang on dam square in the middle of amsterdam so walking distance to everything.dont get me wrong it's nothing fancy that's why it's a 3 star but when in amsterdam your hardly there anyway.so if your after a cheap clean friendly hotel I'd say stay at the rho!!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank groey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divachappie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Spot on! Not very fancy rooms but clean, well serviced. Hotel foyer beautiful and breakfast superb. Cooked and cold buffet breakfast. Some things we Brits like are not here (tea in rooms) but anything can be arranged.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divachappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

It was a great time to stay at Rho. Kindly and nice staff. Good service.
It was something wrong with our safe and they fix it at the same time we complained.

We liked us. Great big room. We had the corner room ?

We had a good time her. The showerfill could have been more stronger, but this is the same around Amsterdam.

Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here 1 night in Feb with my boyfriend and sister. It was a lot bigger than I expected! Greeted by a lovely staff member. One thing that I didn't like was that I asked for a non smoking room but when we arrived my room smelt like smoke. Not sure whether it was a smoking room or not but we opened the window and left it for the day and it was perfectly fine and we were only staying the one night anyway so it didn't worry me.

Great location! right near Dam Square and a short walk from the station. Great value for money. Buffet breakfast is included which was very good.

I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bec S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#140 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,004 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,177 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#186 of 367 in Amsterdam
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#168 of 367 in Amsterdam
483 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#61 of 367 in Amsterdam
551 reviews
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#139 of 367 in Amsterdam
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Property: Rho Hotel
Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing