We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location and clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #137 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location and clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here 1 night in Feb with my boyfriend and sister. It was a lot bigger than I expected! Greeted by a lovely staff member. One thing that I didn't like was that I asked for a non smoking room but when we arrived my room smelt like smoke. Not sure whether it was a smoking room or not but we opened the window and left it for the day and it was perfectly fine and we were only staying the one night anyway so it didn't worry me.

Great location! right near Dam Square and a short walk from the station. Great value for money. Buffet breakfast is included which was very good.

I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bec S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    1,052
    384
    85
    62
See reviews for
276
864
114
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel probably once a year for the last 8 years or so. The rooms are quite variable depending on which part of the hotel you end up in (I think it is made up of several quirky old buildings joined together!) but none of them are poor. Reception staff are excellent and cleaning is good. The rooms are quite warm but this is not a problem with the window open a bit. Good free wifi etc.
The best thing is the location which just couldn't be better (right on Dam Square), and given this the hotel is good value for money. You can walk to the hotel no problem from Central station by the way, so don't waste money on a taxi!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StoneStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very nice hotel in the very centre of Amsterdam. Very convenient location. All major sites of interest are located nearby. Very friendly staff. Nice lobby (former theatre). Tasty breakfast and clean room. Very good price-quality ratio.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VictorSPbK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Lovely! Just off Dam Square. Comfortable rooms, stylish old hotel (converted old theatre). Very friendly helpful staff. Excellent breakfast selection, really could last all day on it!! Only one thing would have made it perfect and that would be facility to make hot drinks in rooms - instead a drinks machine was available in the lobby, but was out of order for our stay :(

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

we stayed at the RHO hotel for two nights as a weekend break and all i have to say is....wow. the hotel was immaculate. reception staff amazingly helpful and always willing to show us where to go, even mapping out where you have to go on the map. room was spacious for three and very pretty. only downfall was there wasnt much in the way of room lighting. perfect location, as was a 5 min walk from train station and on dam square itself. locals are the friendliest people ive ever had the privilege to meet, always helping you to find your destined location.

Room Tip: we had a floor on the 2nd level with a shower bathroom. room faced away from dam square so didnt hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel is right at the center of it all,Dam Square is on your doorstep. It's a basic hotel but perfect for a couple of nights stay. Staff very nice,even if there wasnt room for all 6 of us in the breakfast room. Rooms are a bit old fashioned but comfortable,would def stay again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The inclusion of breakfast and the localtion just off Dam Square, were the reasons I selected this hotel. It made a great base within walking distance to all the main attractions, shops and bars. The foyer of the hotel is large in art deco style. The reception staff are probably the most friendly and helpful I've met. Nothing too much trouble and with excellent English. We had a room with a double bed at the side of the hotel. Admittedly it had just one small window and both it and the bathroom were fairly basic, but both were spotlessly clean. We had 3 nights brilliant sleep as the bed was extremely comfortable and we were never disturbed by noise either inside or outside the hotel. Breakfast was very decent and served in a lovely room where the staff were constantly replenishing the food and clearing tables. If you leave the hotel and turn left you'll find yourself in the theatre area of the city with lots of little bistro type restaurants, quirky shops and less crowded streets and canals. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Rho and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Apparently twin bedded rooms are slightly larger than a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NELLE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#172 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#180 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#140 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#46 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#123 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Property: Rho Hotel
Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing