We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hotel Rho, basic, central.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #140 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Hotel Rho, basic, central.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed in Rho in Feb 2012.
If you want to be in the centre of everthing then Rho is where you want to be. Right on Dam square, 5-10 minutes walk from central station, 30 second walk from tram and bus stops. No walk to get to brown cafes, bars, resturants or red light district.
Rooms are basic, staff are friendly and breakfast will set you up for the day.
Cheap, cheeful and satisfactory hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    1,071
    391
    87
    64
See reviews for
288
878
115
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We moved to this hotel from the Amstel Botel. The staff were very friendly and helpful aspecially at the reception desk. The contrast from the Botel gave us a good feeling for the rest of our stay. Our room was large, light and clean.

This hotel is in an excellent location for the very centre of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KIXX-Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. I think
Amsterdam has to be the easiest place to get around and a breeze from arrival.We got the train to Central Station and walked to the hotel in under 15 minutes (from a google walking route)! Walked everywhere once there too!
Adequate and clean rooms very peaceful at night with comfortable beds and clean sheets daily! We arrived at 11 am and hotel was very busy and as we had booked a double room they were apologetic we may not be able to check in early but they had one double ready which I got the impression we didn't have to accept! It was fine all we look for is cleanliness and comfort and we certainly got this. I knew there were no tea and coffee facilities which is often the case so I took my travel kettle. There is a machine in the lobby where you can get tea or coffee for €1 at any time. Free wifi a big bonus as not all bars and restaurants have this.

Two PCs just off main reception area as well as communal iron and ironing board.

Great choice at breakfast too and I noted some hotels add this on so overall great value for money! Staff very helpful too, would stay here again.

A tip - if visiting any museums well worth pre booking where possible on line to avoid the queues and missing other sites and attractions of this beautiful city we did this and were so pleased we did.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigworld123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We recently stayed here for a short break.The location was perfect, just off Dam Square.The outside was not very attactive but the rooms spacious and clean and the staff were very helpful.
Breakfast was very good, with a good selection.Would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a good hotel right in the centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Last week my husband and I stayed at Rho hotel for 5 nights. As my husband was busy for business, I was mostly alone. Thanks God for the great location of the hotel and it's helpful and friendly staff. At the corner of Dam square it is almost near to many attractions and shopping sites. Amasing Madam Taussud's museum is just a few steps away and if you crave for shopping, Kalverstraat near the hotel is a good choice. There are many restaurants and fast foods around. The most important point is the liveliness of the streets around till midnight. Unlike most of the districts of the city that become so quiet and almost closed after sunset, you can still enjoy exploring around. About the hotel, I would like to say that the rooms are decent and clean. At the reception, friendly and helpful staff do their best to fulfill your needs. Despite a request for too early check-in, we could get our keys so soon. I would like to add that you can enjoy a great breakfast with a good variety of choices despite staying in a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salehpour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

A great hotel right in the city. Walking distance to dam square and central rail station. Also close to a tram station. Very close to warmoesstraat. I had a nice attic room. The rooms are standard but very clean. Breakfast with a very good selection on meet, cheese, fruit, coffee etc. They have great room rates for Amsterdam! I would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam and will stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SReam0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic East Coast, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stay here regularly for business. The location is excellent, right at Dam Square in the City Center. On-site secure parking, clean rooms and included breakfast complete the deal for me.

There's also Wifi included, a nice lobby with plenty of seating areas. They are regularly renovating various parts of the property.

I've been loyal to them for over a year and will continue to stay here on my visits to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I prefer to ask for a room that is not on the street, these tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redbaron32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#189 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#142 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#164 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#47 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#103 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#131 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Property: Rho Hotel
Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing