We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rho Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$406
$367
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$238
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$260
$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Toren(Amsterdam)
$478
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$514
$313
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$433
$333
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$1,139
$496
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$324
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$326
$276
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,524)
Filter reviews
2,524 results
Traveler rating
578
1,299
468
108
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
578
1,299
468
108
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdam squaregreat locationcentral locationno air conthe red light districtrooms are basicreception staffbuffet breakfastfourth floorstreet noisevending machinecold meatsquiet roomtrain stationtriple roomwet roomwithin easy walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
992 - 997 of 2,524 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Prob not the best hotel in the city but decent all the same. Very friendly and helpful reception staff (especially the guys) and cleaners always had a smile on their faces. Rooms were ok-clean and basic. Breakfast was good choice and its location is excellent. Tea/coffe etc located in reception area none in room which was a bind.

Room Tip: rooms in back will be quieter. Make sure you ask for a double bed though...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxieslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A nice hotel in a fantastic location just off Dam Square, and with excellent and very helpful staff.

The rooms are small and quite basic, with little in the way of extra amenities. Breakfast was okay.

If the hotel is an important part of your trip then you should probably look elsewhere; but if you simply want a base while you explore the city then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyb949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The service at the rho was very good from start to finish,i arrived early and they looked after my bags until my room was ready.Once your at the rho just a couple of steps and your in the heart of it all,so went for a wonder.On return was given a lovely room not much of a view but clean and very comfy.Would always be my first choice

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Rho hotel is located in an extremely central area of Amsterdam and it has a really beautiful reception area, so the first impression is definately favourable. The staff at the desk is very uneven, the men generally more service minded than the girls behind the counter.
Our first room (read on why it was our first) was 186. It was small, with a somewhat jaded decor and furniture, but clean, cosy and even had a french balcony :). Bathroom was a good size and also spotlessly clean. Beds were comfortable, the pillows were not!
It was october when we stayed in the hotel, but if you travel during the summer I would guess that it will be very warm since there is no air conditioning. There is only a table fan.
The breakfast (which is complimentary, quite rare for Amsterdam) is served in a nice big room next to the reception. It contains most of the things you expect (scrambled eggs) and some that you don't in Europe (american pancakes for instance). All in all, it was a good selection of food to choose from.
We were quite ticked off when we had to change room in the middle of our stay due to some emergency maintanance work and we were not offered any kind of compensation until we asked for it. Our compensation was that we didn't have to leave our new room at normal check-out time on our day of departure. We could stay as long as we needed the room.
The new room (210) was extremely comfortable, in a corner of the building and very bright with large windows facing two directions and almost twice the size of our first. No french balcony though. We actually wished that we had been given this room from the beginning when we arrived :).
So the pros of the hotel are the following: clean, good breakfast, pleasant service from the guys in the reception, good central location, all rooms have fridge, some rooms very spacious, lifts (yes, in Amsterdam this is a bonus).
And the cons? A somewhat rude attitude from the girls in reception, no minibar, rather noisy street outside (didn't bother us though) due to the central location, some shabby interior decorating. And for a 3-star hotel it's quite expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Nes (the street outside) can be noisy during weekends
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews