We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Returning to an old friend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #138 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Level Contributor
189 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Returning to an old friend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I last stayed here about 15 years ago and used to enjoy it. I returned with memories of a beautiful building convenient for Dam Square and was not dissappointed.

Check in is slow - far too slow, but you only do this once.
My room was a good sized, well decorated and quiet. It was cleaned very well every day of my stay.
I realise that this is a budget hotel, but I would have appreciated a kettle in the room, even if you had to buy the coffee sachets. Its a lot to ask guests to head down to reception to use the coffee machine.

Breakfasts are a good serve yourself buffet with plenty of choice, although personally I was not fond of the scambled eggs or bacon. However the meats, cheeses and fruit were very good. Breakfast can be a bit chaotic given the layout of the breakfast, so I recommend finding a quiet table away from the crowd. I had no problems in finding a clean table and its good to watch the efficient staff cleaning and refilling on a continuous cycle.

The building has retained its shabby chic elegance and I do like it.

Reception is really the only minus point on this place - service can be a bit lacking, but I never found it rude or unacceptable, just not as good as it can be.

The hotel is very convenient for Dam Square and the Red Light District / China Town.

I shall be returning and I wont be leaving ti so long this time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkwind1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    1,113
    407
    90
    65
See reviews for
298
923
118
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The most ignorant, arrogant and aggressive staff I have came across in any hotel. Learn some customer service skills. We will never go back. It was not only with ourselves, we witnessed them being rude to other customers, I can't believe that they have so many good reviews

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

main reception area is lovely, rooms are quite basic but clean, bathroom was clean, breakfast was good, location fantastic - easy distance to train station, right on Dam square (which by the way has the most expensive drinks in the whole of Amsterdam!) Eat at the restaurant next o the wine bar on the same street as the hotel - no bookings, just turn up and have one of the best meals ever

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Layla047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the Rho Hotel in September and had a triple room. The room was very large, even for American standards. It was very clean and basic. Smallish bathroom with little place to put your things but fine. The buffet was extensive and always fresh. The location is great; right in dam square in the middle of the action. I liken it to being the Times Square of Amsterdam. Close to many attractions including the red light district. The reason I give the Rho such high marks is for their customer service. Not only are they extremely friendly and helpful with suggestions, they were very helpful in handling a snafu that occurred during our stay. Something of mine (it was actually something I borrowed from a friend) was taken, by accident, by housekeeping and sent to the laundry. I was extremely upset and not sure how I was going to break this to my friend. Huib and the other staff were very upset that I was so upset and really went the extra mile to try to track it down. It took almost a week for them to locate the item, but they did, and even mailed it back to me in the states. I am so thankful to them for going the extra mile and helping me. Thank you, RHO staff, for all your hard work!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rellyrooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed at the Rho hotel from Sept 20th-24th 2012. I have to say that it was a very pleasurable experience indeed. The room was very spacious and reasonably priced too. The hotel is situated in a great location (only a ten minute walk from Central Station). This of course, was a huge plus.
The staff were very friendly and always available if you should have the need to ask any questions, etc..The food served at Breakfast, was VERY nice. A wide variety of food and drink was available each day.
This was my eighth visit to Amsterdam and I can honestly say that it was the best hotel that I have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel and I would definitely recommend it. We stayed in a triple suite which was large and spotlessly clean. We arrived after a 10 minute walk from the Central station and were greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist. We found reception to be excellent throughout our stay. The location was perfect, on the edge of Dam Square (easy walking distance to all main attractions), and we did not experience any outside noise, despite the hotel being so central. The breakfast buffet was very good and was included in our room rate. I could not fault this hotel. If you are looking for a basic but clean and well-located hotel to stay at with friends, you would not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lois178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Rho hotel in September-October 2012 for 5 nights. The location can't be beat! We were 15 meters from Dam Square with most of the popular attractions in walking distance. Despite the location, we had no problem with noise (our rooms faced the courtyard.) The rooms were clean and everything worked, including the WiFi. But, we switched rooms after the first night because the first room we stayed in was quite small. The building used to house a theater and the rooms are quite variable. There were a few minor drawbacks: I have back problems and the soft beds were a bit of a problem. For those of you with lower back pain, I'd advise bringing a small pillow with you. The larger room had a shower but no real stall so the bathroom floor got wet whenever we showered. (The first room we stayed in had a nice shower stall.) The lighting in the room was weak. Also, there was no air conditioning. It wasn't hot while we were there and the table fan the hotel provided was quite adequate, but in the summer this might be a problem.

Rooms came equipped with flat TV's and remotes, fans, a large safe, and a wood closet with hangars.

Breakfast was served until 10:30. The food was plentiful and completely reasonable and there was a variety of things to choose from. The dining room was clean, comfortable and spacious.

The staff was outstanding! They were always helpful and very friendly. It was always pleasant to be greeted warmly whenever we returned from an outing.

Overall, despite some minor drawbacks, we very much enjoyed staying at the Rho Hotel and would happily do so again. It was a bit less expensive than some of the other alternatives we investigated and we felt we got good value for our money.

Room Tip: Room 322 faces a courtyard. Plenty of room, but a bit dark and the shower has no stall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shemstami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#193 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#173 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#52 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Property: Rho Hotel
Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing