We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great value for money hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #139 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value for money hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I booked a triple room on hoteliers.com - discount given if you book in advance. This is a super hotel as long as you are not looking for fancy accommodation. Rooms are perfectly acceptable and clean for 3* hotel with plenty of space - I would say they are a bit like a travelodge room. There was free access to a safe in room. Our room was quiet, but quite hot, although a fan was provided. TV has BBC1, BBC2 and world news, also some foreign stations in English with Dutch subtitles. Breakfast was great, plenty of selection, loads of room, and well stocked. Wi-fi not great in room, but was free access. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful at both reception and breakfast. Negatives quite hard to find, but stairs were steep and no coffee making in room. Would definitely recommend and would also return if going back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    1,054
    387
    85
    62
See reviews for
277
866
114
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

(+) Excellent location right very near to Dam Square and Red Light District. It can easily reach the main attractions of the city (even walking). Many restaurants, shops, etc. in the are. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.
(-) Little room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MihBic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I enjoyed the stay in this cute "art nouveau" hotel. Well i's not cheap but comparing to the average prices in amsterdam is absolutely a worthy choice! You won't find another hotel at this rate in the same super central position, point that makes every place within walking distance and that is importan to save time and money). Rooms are very spacious, breakfast is abundant and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ale c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have just returned from Amsterdam and stayed in this great hotel. It is a converted theatre so the lobby is quaint. The rooms were quiet,clean and basic with just a fan but for sightseeing it was just right. The breakfast was basic but plentiful. We must mention Huib from the front desk who gave us excellent service when my husband had knee pain and had to see a doctor. Huib made all the arrangements and made sure the taxi knew where to go and for this we are grateful.
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 480traveller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel was ok, but definitely not worth the price. We paid 135e/night for a double room and for the price would expect a little bit more. The decor was cheap/old-fashioned and, for example, the room had no ceiling lamp or trash can (only in the bathroom). The room was, however, clean and quite spacious. The temperature in the room was very hot, although it wasn't that warm outside. On the other hand, in the hallway it was freezing. Some of the noise from nearby bars could be heard in the room, although we had windows facing the "courtyard". One of the good things was that the room had a fridge, so we could buy some snacks and keep them cool. The free wifi had very poor reception in the room, it only worked properly in the lobby. The breakfast had quite a small selection and as it was very busy (we even had to queue to get into the breakfast room one of the mornings!) the staff had difficulties keeping items from running out. The location is good, right next to the Dam square and within a short walking distance from the central station.

I could consider staying again, if the price would be cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jalokivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very friendly staff, enormous lobby, very clean, quiet, abundant (though not exciting) breakfast included, WiFi erratic in my room, entrance on quiet street just 100 feet off of main plaza crowded with activity, large supermarket within few minutes walk, trams to everywhere stop on the plaza. Although it appears to be near the red light district on the map, it is comfortably distant. Wonderful early morning jogging along the canals. My room had bed, desk, tiny table, two chairs, one stool, small closet, free safe and refrigerator, TV, space for one suitcase on a support. Bathroom sparkling, curtainless shower with small curb did not flood bathroom as long as water flow was modest. I would choose this hotel again rather than roll the dice and try another.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Fringe_Gatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brentwood essex
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We are amsterdam regulars and have stayed at a lot of so called better hotels than this but we were more than satisfied with our stay.The room was basic but clean and decent size, shower room was ok flat screen tv and fridge.Breakfast was ok and included in price which was unusual in amsterdam.The location is great but what really makes this place is the staff the reception staff were helpful friendly and did everything with a smile and also with some humour thrown in the guy who checked us in made us laugh and got our break off to a great start other hotels could take notice as they often seem to be staffed by surly robots well done everybody would definately stay again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g0lden0ldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#168 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#181 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#142 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#122 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Property: Rho Hotel
Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing