We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cozy with Friendly Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hestia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hestia
Ranked #244 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cozy with Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

A nice hotel in a lovely leafy area, near the Vondelpark and walking distance to the main sights. The rooms are very small but the service was really good. Amsterdam is very expensive city anyway so you pay for what you get. Small rooms but all facilities are available.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conor_M186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    80
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
27
52
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in early June 2014. Location is great, in a quiet street, just behind the Leidseplein and very near to all the big museums. Trams and buses stop nearby. The room can only be described as 'box-room', but I wasn't expecting anything else at this price and the room was clean and comfortable with quite a nice view over the Vondelpark Youth Hostel. My only gripe is with the billing. I had booked months in advance, attracting an 'early booking discount' of 13 euros. This discount din't feature on my bill and I paid the full amount. More worrying was that -according to the receipt- I had opted to pay in British Pounds, rather than euros. I had definately not done that and clearly remember seeing the amount in euros. So, the reception staff must have made the choice for me and that means a poor exchange rate and a 3% surcharge (of which some will end back in the pockets of the hotel no doubt). Very dubious practice to say the least (and probably illegal) Finally, I had pre-paid for 3 b'fasts, but had to leave early on the first morning and never made it to b'fast. They refused to issue a refund, but gave me a free coke from the mini bar in stead.
Staff was friendly and if it wasn't for the billing issues I would actually recommend this place (unless you need lots of space). I guess I won't be back in a hurry.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saba-95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Hotel is in a very convenient location to the major museums and also to walk into the main part of the city. The rooms are very clean and there is a lovely breakfast room with a small garden area with outside seating. Very peaceful and lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Constap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

What more can you ask for a budget stay? I needed one night somewhere not too far from the city centre and this place is on a quiet side street close to Leidseplein.
The desk clerk was very helpful regarding sorting out my next day's journey and while the room was pretty small, it was quiet enough so a decent sleep was on the cards.
I didn't hang around for breakfast so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I just returned from Amsterdam and a five-day stay at Hotel Hestia. It is a small boutique hotel on a quiet street off of Leidseplein Square. We had excellent service from the staff. The room was clean, comfortable and facing the street with a small balcony to enjoy the surrounding architecture. Location was easily accessible to all public transportation and in walking distance of Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. We thoroughly our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I have just come back from a 2 night stay at Hotel Hestia with my partner, on arrival the staff were very helpful and chatty, we were allocated a small room as booked it was very clean and had everything we needed- even a hair dryer. The location was fab about a 2minute Walk and you are at Hard Rock Cafe. I Would definitely recommend this hotel to all friends and family and if I ever return to Amsterdam I will be stopping here again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill-dyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#118 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#148 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Sipermann Hotel
Sipermann Hotel
#304 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#214 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hestia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hestia

Property: Hotel Hestia
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 7, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hestia 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hestia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hestia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing