We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Affordable Comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hestia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hestia
Ranked #242 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Wiichita, KS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Affordable Comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I am a 71 year old male and often travel solo.This was my initial trip to Amsterdam. Right away I felt at ease. The people were smiling, friendly and helpful. The tram ride to the Leidese Plein district from the main train station was uncomplicated and the driver told me where to exit for my hotel which was a short 2 block walk. The Hotel Hestia is in a charming quiet area and I was welcomed & checked in easily. The Hestia had everything I look for in a hotel a comfortable clean affordable room, an elevator, a good location to restaurants and museums and a safe neighborhood. The breakfast offered was typically Dutch and started my day well. I recommend the Hestia for all the mentioned attributes. My stay included 4 nights. I'd stay there again since Amsterdam is now on my list for a return trip.

Room Tip: European hotels in older buildings usually have steep stairs. I have found an elevator to be essenti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueHighwaysTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    80
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
27
52
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lebanon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

where do i start from? I LOVE HOTEL HESTIA. my husband and i spent 4 nights at hotel hestia and i'm so happy i chose this little hotel. we stayed in room 36 which was on the 4th floor, a lot of natural light in the room. the room was great, i expected a small room, but it wasn't that small. the staff, everyone of them were really helpful and had answers to every question we asked. the breakfast is really nice. and the terrace is wonderful if you're a smoker, you don't have to go out of the hotel if you need to smoke a cigarette. i will definitely go back to Amsterdam and i know where i'll be staying.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 36, it was a medium double room on the top floor. lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank souhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

On a recent trip to Amsterdam I had the unexpected pleasure to stay at the Hestia Hotel for 2 nights. Great location, in the vicinity of the museums and entertainment area of the city, no bike or taxi needed during the stay. Clean rooms, quiet location, friendly and helpful staff ... even when I showed up late for breakfast, I was offered coffee and something to eat. I know which hotel I will be booking for the next Amsterdam trip ..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berliner007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam. It is not fancy but I really try and not spend too much time in my hotel room anyway. It is clean, in a terrific location and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Also had the steepest stairway that I have ever seen (but don't worry there is an elevator).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

When i arrived the receptionist was very friendly. She gave me the key and send me to my room. My stay was only for 1 night and was good clean room. Good bed and nice sanitary. I left in the night again there was nobody but i left my key at the reception desk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Teun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#107 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Parkzicht
Parkzicht
#312 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#143 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#180 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#51 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hestia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hestia

Property: Hotel Hestia
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 7, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hestia 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hestia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hestia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing