We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, good service and quite good price for Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel Hestia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hestia
Ranked #254 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Turin, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, good service and quite good price for Amsterdam”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for two nights.
We booked the small double room with a small queen bed and the room was actually really small, but after all quite confortable. Spaces within the room is pretty well organized. And also the bed is not so small. It is a standard queen bed in my opinion.
The hotel is in a four floor builiding, our room was in the fourth floor, but being there the lift we did not have any problem in bringing up and down our stuff.
Breakfast is simply but quite good. A lot of salty dishes, but jam and chocolate sauce are in any case available if you want a sweet breakfast.
Staff is really excellent. Very kind and supportive. Very precise in providing suggestions and informations.
Position is optimal! All the city actractions are at walkable distance. Very close to Vondelpark, Museumplein and Leidseplein. De Jordaan, Dam square, Red Light District are reachable with a 15 minutes walk.
What else? Oh I am forgotting Snoep (I do not know how it is written, it should mean Candy) the sweet cat you can meet in the hotel corridors. She will purr by just hearing the sound of your voice talking to her.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    80
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
27
52
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a small hotel on a quiet street near Leidseplein and the Rijksmuseum, easily accessible by Bus 197 from Schiphol. My room, though small, was adequate for one person, very clean, and the mini bar fridge was nice to have. The breakfast room with small garden is pleasant with a filling choice of cheese, cold cuts, eggs, cereal, yogurt, and bread. If you are interested in the museums this is an excellent choice, 5 minutes away, and only a 20 minute walk to Dam Square. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travgal0766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel has very friendly staff. Room was small but had everything I needed.
Good breakfast with excellent terrace. This hotel has the added advantage of having a lift, a real bonus in this type of hotel.



  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hotel is on a quiet street just off Vondel Park (diagonal to tram street Overtoom and Nassaukade leading to Rijksmuseum). Stayed in a family room for one week, very spacious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good and served in a pleasant room open to a sweet little garden where we even saw a hedghog one evening! Walking distance to just about everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xeni25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I had a tiny single room that was perfect for a couple of nights in the Museum District at a very affordable rate. Pleasant quiet location, friendly staff, good daily breakfast provided in a spacious room with a view of the backyard where wild parrots could be seen eating from a bird feeder.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#125 of 368 in Amsterdam
667 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#164 of 368 in Amsterdam
987 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Sipermann Hotel
Sipermann Hotel
#312 of 368 in Amsterdam
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#75 of 368 in Amsterdam
751 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#230 of 368 in Amsterdam
203 reviews
Prinsen Hotel
#219 of 368 in Amsterdam
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hestia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hestia

Property: Hotel Hestia
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 7, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hestia 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hestia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hestia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing