We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the center of Amsterdam, Very helpful staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hegra Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hegra Hotel
Ranked #155 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
westyat7000
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location in the center of Amsterdam, Very helpful staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at the Hegra Hotel in Amsterdam. It was a great stay. We were in room number 10, top floor facing the canal. The room was very clean and fairly spacious, and the bathroom was newly remodeled.

We arrived early, and the hotel allowed us to store our bags while we went out to get some lunch. When we arrived back at the hotel to check in, our bags were waiting for us in the room.

I did not get the mans name who was at the front desk while we were there, but he was incredibly helpful. He truly went above and beyond to help us out.

The stairs are steep! I do not find this out of the ordinary for this type of European hotel.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westyat7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    120
    23
    8
    8
See reviews for
54
85
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

4 of us stayed here for 4 nights in september. We paid £790 between us. The room was tiny with no wardrobes so we had to live out our cases. The room was only big enough for a couple. The first night we never got a winks sleep as there was a party going on in the house nextdoor. Me and another guy were bitten alive with bed bugs. I actually saw them and was nearly sick. Floor was filthy. Bathroom was tiny. Good location but thats it. My bites are just clearing up now a week on. I never booked this place but thinking back we should have asked to see room first. The beds as someone else said were so thin you had to watch when you turned or u were on the floor. Dirty Dirty rooms. My girlfriend thought i had some sort of disease when she seen all the bites. I had several on my head and at one point thought it had burrowed in and was still there. Bathed in tcp and aplied savlon for a week. Angry i paid to get bitten.

Room Tip: Wherever you go ask to see room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Hegra in room 7. The room was the smallest we have ever stayed in over 25 years of traveling in Europe, 150 sq ft maybe. No closets so could not unpack bags. The bed had a foam mattress so that there was no support on the outside edges and you basically had to huddle together in the middle in order to not fall off the bed. She is 110lbs and I'm 165lbs so not a weight problem. Bathroom was small with only a sink the width of my hand. Staircase would challenge a good mountain climber. All for about 300 a night, Wow what fun!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy66squid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Good location.

The rooms are the smallest I have ever seen, but were clean. The staff could have been more friendly, but overall the hotel was ok.

We only stayed for a couple of days, but they did not change our towels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrrived few minutes after 11pm and since the reception was just closed we ring the bell indicated on the door. The owner (probably on the phone diverted from the ring) told us we were late, it was not his problem (although we paid, we arrived and the room was free and allocate to us), he didnt care and we should find another hotel. Very arrogant, no consideration, absolutely not guest oriented. Luckily the guy in charge of the reception until 11pm woke up , opened the door and gave us our room. The room is very small. Quite central located. Highest rate/square room in my entire life. Not to reccomend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cskswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamBart, Eigenaar at Hegra Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are sorry to that you had to wait to get in the hotel, but you have understand that for a small hotel with only 9 rooms its not possible to have a 24 hours reception. we make that very clear by the reservation, and always ask the guest for the arriveltime, you added a arrivel at 14.00h, if you contacted the hotel by phone or mail of your late arrivel we could wait for you instead report it as a no-show, however we managed to give you a room after midnight wich unfortanally did not mach your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hotel Hegra is reasonably priced hotel in a great location off the Herengracht canal. It is walking distance to many attractions although I recommend renting a bike. This is not a high rise modern building so do not expect elevators or many amenities. The stairwells a tight but you truly get the feeling of Amsterdam staying at the Hotel Hegra. They do provide free wifi and offer breakfast for additional costs. Overall the room was clean and the bathroom (all be it small) had good water pressure and a hair dryer. We happen to stay in a quad room with 3 people which provided a nice amount of space. I would stay at Hotel Hegra again but would not recommend this hotel for anyone who has trouble with stairs or wants to be in the hussle of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenhlevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We found Hotel Hegra to offer the most reasonable price for a 3 night trip in the beginning of August. Reviews mentioned the tight stairwell, but otherwise seemed favorable, so we made the leap of faith. A pleasant surprise! The hotel is located along Herengracht canal, fairly centrally located and close to a lot of great cafes and shops. The stairwells are very tight and steep (you may have trouble if you have a large, heavy bag), but all the old buildings are like that in Amsterdam. We had a quad on the 3rd floor in the back which was clean and basic. The shower had good water pressure and although very small, water did not make a mess everywhere. We had unseasonably warm weather, so the room did get hot, but we otherwise found it to be rather quiet (even with the windows wide open) despite the review otherwise. I would stay here again as it is very convenient and quiet. Paolo on staff was quite helpful in pointing out sights on a street map and providing directions. We did not take part in the breakfast downstairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#182 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#19 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#68 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#105 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,666 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#169 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hegra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hegra Hotel

Property: Hegra Hotel
Address: Herengracht 269, 1016 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hegra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is completely renovated this year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hegra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hegra Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing