We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogant owner. We have been rejected at arrival despite proper pre-paid booking”
Review of Hegra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hegra Hotel
Ranked #158 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrrived few minutes after 11pm and since the reception was just closed we ring the bell indicated on the door. The owner (probably on the phone diverted from the ring) told us we were late, it was not his problem (although we paid, we arrived and the room was free and allocate to us), he didnt care and we should find another hotel. Very arrogant, no consideration, absolutely not guest oriented. Luckily the guy in charge of the reception until 11pm woke up , opened the door and gave us our room. The room is very small. Quite central located. Highest rate/square room in my entire life. Not to reccomend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cskswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamBart, Eigenaar at Hegra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We are sorry to that you had to wait to get in the hotel, but you have understand that for a small hotel with only 9 rooms its not possible to have a 24 hours reception. we make that very clear by the reservation, and always ask the guest for the arriveltime, you added a arrivel at 14.00h, if you contacted the hotel by phone or mail of your late arrivel we could wait for you instead report it as a no-show, however we managed to give you a room after midnight wich unfortanally did not mach your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 296 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hotel Hegra is reasonably priced hotel in a great location off the Herengracht canal. It is walking distance to many attractions although I recommend renting a bike. This is not a high rise modern building so do not expect elevators or many amenities. The stairwells a tight but you truly get the feeling of Amsterdam staying at the Hotel Hegra. They do provide free wifi and offer breakfast for additional costs. Overall the room was clean and the bathroom (all be it small) had good water pressure and a hair dryer. We happen to stay in a quad room with 3 people which provided a nice amount of space. I would stay at Hotel Hegra again but would not recommend this hotel for anyone who has trouble with stairs or wants to be in the hussle of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenhlevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We found Hotel Hegra to offer the most reasonable price for a 3 night trip in the beginning of August. Reviews mentioned the tight stairwell, but otherwise seemed favorable, so we made the leap of faith. A pleasant surprise! The hotel is located along Herengracht canal, fairly centrally located and close to a lot of great cafes and shops. The stairwells are very tight and steep (you may have trouble if you have a large, heavy bag), but all the old buildings are like that in Amsterdam. We had a quad on the 3rd floor in the back which was clean and basic. The shower had good water pressure and although very small, water did not make a mess everywhere. We had unseasonably warm weather, so the room did get hot, but we otherwise found it to be rather quiet (even with the windows wide open) despite the review otherwise. I would stay here again as it is very convenient and quiet. Paolo on staff was quite helpful in pointing out sights on a street map and providing directions. We did not take part in the breakfast downstairs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

lots of steep stairs though. Very clean and on a quiet canal. walking distance to nearly all main attractions. But the rooms are small, and those stairs are steep with no elevator. resident cat. good value continental breakfast

Room Tip: spring for the canal room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniecat1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Reasonably priced hotel, good location. Lethal stairs but that's common for Amsterdam. Breakfast was served in the bedrooms daily. Friendly staff and overall good stay. Would send go back of staying in Amsterdam again

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you can't climb very steep and narrow stairs while dragging your suitcase this place is not for you. Good location but very small rooms and very noisy. There is no elevator so if you are in anyway physically challenged don't come here. Room is about 8 feet across and is the smallest we have been in in Europe.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wiphlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Hotel Hegra is well situated on the Herengracht Canal, within a 10-minute walk of the Anne Frank House and a 30-minute walk of the Rijksmuseum. Its amenities are very basic. The people who operate the hotel are less than friendly and minimally helpful. There are several similarly situated, small hotels within a few blocks of Hotel Hegra. If you want to stay in this nice and quiet neighborhood, suggest you consider the nearby alternatives.

Stayed: June 2013
2  Thank Virginia-Sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#239 of 375 in Amsterdam
385 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#174 of 375 in Amsterdam
520 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#188 of 375 in Amsterdam
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#207 of 375 in Amsterdam
156 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#162 of 375 in Amsterdam
436 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#97 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hegra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hegra Hotel

Address: Herengracht 269, 1016 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $100 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hegra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is completely renovated this year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hegra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hegra Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing