We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hegra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hegra Hotel
Ranked #160 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Cozy Comfort”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hotel Hegra is a clean, comfortable and affordable boutique hotel located right in the heart of the "Nine Little Street Shops" area of Amsterdam. We spent 2 nights in this great little gem. The location is excellent - close to fabulous restaurants and the Anne Frank House. The hotel is a 17th century merchant's home overlooking the canal. The authentic elements of this hotel made it very inviting and enjoyable during our stay. Because of the period the home was built the stairwells are very small and narrow. The hotel will help you get your luggage to your room using a pulley/lift mechanism and take it through your window. I know this sounds strange but it works like a charm and makes it easy. Our room was on the top floor overlooking the canal with 2 single beds. Very comfortable mattresses and a modern but small bathroom. Breakfast is available in the hotel for approx 6.50 Euro's per person but better options for breakfast are available close by. Location is a real bonus for this hotel. We never needed to take any public transportation as we were within easy walking distance to Heineken Brewery, Heritage Museum (Van Gogh museum's temporary home), and everything else! Book online at hotel website what is called a "Hot non-refundable deal" and save money.

Room Tip: Canal side has beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfair5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    137
    29
    8
    8
See reviews for
62
99
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

All that it was advertised to be - small, clean comfortable and fantastic location! Breakfast is good value too at 6.50 each morning. Staircase very narrow so do not bring a big suitcase lol!!! Would go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank KatiehScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had just one night in Amsterdam and wanted a well-located, clean and affordable hotel in the canal belt. If possible, also a small hotel with the allure of a typical canal house.
Well, Hegra definitely fitted the requirements! We were a bit concerned that we would have to carry our luggage in narrow staircases up three or four floors but we had room #1 on the first floor (quadruple) and it wasn't far to go - and then, before we could even react, a member of the staff brought our luggage up for us !
No canal view, but it didn't matter given our short stay. The only inconvenient (as has been noted in other reviews) was the deficient ventilation in the bathroom, which became very damp, spreading in the room, after shower use. Manager was not exceedingly friendly, but professional. Breakfast was unexpensive and good.
All in all good value and a good choice, though our first choice wasn't available anymore. As has been mentioned, the location is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piche19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel was a surprise. In easy walking distance to main attractions, in a quiet road opposite the canal. Simple family hotel with comfortable beds, newly decorated, nice bathrooms with shower. Good value for money.

Top marks from me!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gisela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Quaint small hotel near the Jordaan neighborhood. Room was small but perfect, and the place was very clean. We had room 11 on the top floor. The stairs were a bit crazy, but that's what added character to the hotel. It's in an old traditional building.

Staff was very nice and the breakfast is a good deal. Lots of restaurants in the area. Hotel is within 10 minutes of Dam Square and Anne Frank House. Would stay again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydub80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this small, cosy and clean city hotel very munch. The hotel is perfectly located in one of these old typicall Amsterdam houses on a channel, every tourist always wants to get in. The hotel is perfectly renovated with very small, but very nice and clean rooms with a perfect bathroom. The staircase is very cliffy and tiny, for older or disabled people it is impossible to get into the rooms, because the hotel has no elevator.
The breakfast was very good. We hope to come back and meet the friendly owner (with his cat) again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatjanaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Went with 3 of my friends. Perfect location in centre of Amsterdam 5 minutes walk from dam square, 10 minutes from Central station. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Just what we wanted. Thanks Hotel Hegra!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#220 of 364 in Amsterdam
332 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
947 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#184 of 364 in Amsterdam
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#78 of 364 in Amsterdam
820 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 364 in Amsterdam
943 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#180 of 364 in Amsterdam
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hegra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hegra Hotel

Property: Hegra Hotel
Address: Herengracht 269, 1016 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hegra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is completely renovated this year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hegra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hegra Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing