We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Hegra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hegra Hotel
Ranked #164 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Rooms were very clean, hotel in a lovely quiet spot but so close to everything, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Hegra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 286 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked this hotel on line for an overnight stay. We are family of four and we booked the family room. The room is on the second floor and is accessed by a very steep and winding staircase, this is the norm for Amsterdam so expect this if you book a canal side hotel. The room had four single beds and appeared to have been recently refurbished to a high standard. The onsuite was new, clean and very modern. We arrived early and were allowed to leave our cases in reception whilst we explored Amsterdam, the Hegra is only five minutes from Dam Square. We did not have breakfast so can't comment on that but the hotel was excellent in every other respect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matjam65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here for just 3 nights and on the 3rd floor. As others have mentioned, the tight stairs of a canal house may pose a problem for the elderly but we really enjoyed the authenticity they offered. The hotel is in an great location within walking distance of everything. The room was clean and comfortable.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jeverlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Mature couple from Massachusetts(USA) stayed 3 nights here and enjoyed the experience. Room was very comfortable and clean. The owner was very helpful and spoke English. Location was great as we walked in all directions to enjoy the city. Close by is the Anne Frank House. Cafes all around the area. We enjoyed a good breakfast for only 6.50 Euro and were awakened by the smell of fresh baked croissants. Only drawback is the narrow/steep stairs. I would stay here again as it felt more like a B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Decided to go to Amsterdam on a flying visit and needed a central hotel at a good price! Hotel Hegra was exactly that! We had a beautiful room, lovely bathroom and brilliant hosts! Can't comment on the breakfast as we left at 7am but really couldn't have been happier with the service we got!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from a two night stay at Hotel Hegra. The location is really great as the hotel sits on the picturesque Herengracht canal and is a 10-12 minute walk from Centraal Station. As other posters have indicated, the hotel has a very, VERY steep stairwell so if you're traveling with a lot of luggage or have problems climbing a lot of stairs, this might not be the place for you. But if you don't mind climbing (we were on the fifth floor), the hotel is a great value for the location. The room we stayed in was basic but fulfilled all of our needs as a comfortable, quiet place to rest our heads after a long flight. We didn't have the breakfast so I can't comment on it, but there are a few coffee shops and bakeries in the area if you opt out like we did. Overall, a good value compared to some of the other big ticket hotels in the city and a nice place for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a low floor facing the canal.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Location is 10 mins walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station through shops for food and souvenirs which is very convenient. 5 mins walking to Dam Straat and tram stops. Stayed in Quad rooms (2 adult 2 children) but all are single beds which I have no problem with. Nice and breezy check in. Nice view outside of hotel, unfortunately did not get a room facing the canal. Breakfast was nice and the same everyday, but starts rather late (around 8 am). Had to leave early on the last day, so requested for earlier breakfast and the manager prepared for us which is nice of him.

The room was not too small (we had smaller hotel in Venice) for us, though the bath room was really small (my daughter chipped her tooth banging to the sink, well she is also a clumsy girl). The shower (no bath) was nice as the pressure was good. The only problem we had was the smell of the paint, probably very recently refurbished, hence the 4 rating. So we opened the window.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xyzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#173 of 371 in Amsterdam
455 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#232 of 371 in Amsterdam
368 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#105 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,992 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#25 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hegra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hegra Hotel

Address: Herengracht 269, 1016 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $119 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hegra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is completely renovated this year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hegra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hegra Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing