We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Ranked #73 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Just returned from long weekend in Amsterdam. After researching the hotels in the area decided to stay at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, location was great as was 5 minute walk for central station and came in by train from airport. I thought the hotel was very clean, the room we had faced the front and we thought it might be noisy - but it wasn't - slept well. Bathroom and shower were excellant. Staff very helpful during booking, emailed a couple of times before we arrived and were very prompt with response.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertie147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    342
    104
    28
    14
See reviews for
139
324
43
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have just returned from the Hotel Sint Nicolaas and although had good break the hotel was a disappointment, from reading all the reviews on here and other comparison sites.

The amount we paid for the period of 3 nights we were to be honest expecting something special and we feel we got average B&B offering.

No reception desk on entry, all check in's are at the Bar ! questions - drinks etc are all dealt with from here. The place is somewhat strange and not so Boutique as we thought. We had to leave baggage as arrived early. Finally checked in and given cards for room.

Room - Small not at all out of this world and as previous a good B&B room. Tea - Coffee tray for 1 cup each - No bathrobes, No Toiletries (except 2 bottles on wall like premier inn) no air con, no iron etc. The room gets very hot in the night and to open the window was a no no due to street noise and Trams running past. Over cooked should be fan in room at least. Spoke to staff who said could do nothing about it ! Can hear what's going on all around you in other rooms including someone having a bath at 1.00am in the early hours. We have stopped in the best and worst hotels around the world and this is disappointing.

Breakfast : No separate room you eat where everyone comes in and out in one room downstairs - yes the check in area - bar - sitting area all in one area. The breakfast was poor bread out of a sleeve not fresh, Ham- Cheese out of a packet (that they even brought out to re-plemish in front of all ) no fresh coffee all out of machine, juice that is diluted, NO hot food at all oh sorry a hard boiled egg that's cold. Oh and some Fruit in a bowl. Very poor

We did have few issues that were not sorted, kettle didn't work - staff said Sorry maintenance guy not in ! next day cover for electric fell off when plugged device in .. Sorry maintenance guy not in until Tuesday now ... no visit to room or nothing. Questions asked re area was a guide book passed over no suggestions of help - guidance or suggestions. The care side did seem lacking you were there and that's that. What else do you expect ...... Tell you what Not feeling like your a number and interaction with Customers.

At 199 Euro a night you expect not top notch, but a good standard of hotel. This was not, it was very disappointing and one where you know you can get a better deal at same style of hotel, or better hotel for same sort of monies.

Sorry St Nicolaas not a great review and we are always the first to put criticism in context. You must know you can achieve better and don't rest on your current standards. May I suggest you all take a training course on Customer Relations and make your guests feel wanted and appreciated, NOT just a number. Also improve breakfast with a hot offering - fresh bread, coffee, juice etc.

Room Tip: UMM .. probably ask to stay in room that is shown on website as others do not achieve same opulence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkandAmanda06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Mark and Amanda,

All of us here at Hotel Sint Nicolaas are quite surprised to receive this review from you and we are truly very sorry that this was your experience at our hotel. We had no idea about your discontent, nor did we receive any indication that would suggest you were unhappy with any aspect of your stay with us. We would hereby like to take the time to address some of the points you raised in your review.

Regarding the reception desk, we can understand the confusion, although it might have the appearance of a bar, it is in fact the reception desk and that is its main purpose. Yes, we have some liquor shelves and drinks behind the desk, but we are not a bar, we only serve drinks to the guests of the hotel. The rest of the decor, we suppose, is just a matter of taste. It is a bit quirky, no argument from us there, but most guests react positively to our interior. Our lobby in general provides multiple services including as a breakfast area; in Amsterdam one needs to make the best use of the available space. For breakfast we offer a standard continental, which some guests find sufficient and for others it is lacking in certain areas. Again we feel this to be mostly a matter of taste.

Luggage storage is something we offer to all guests as a free service and fortunately we were able to check you into the room even before check-in time, we try and accommodate this where possible.
On our website we state clearly which amenities we do and do not provide in the room, and some we can provide on request, for example the iron. The situation with the request for a fan is very regrettable because we do have big standing fans available for the rooms. We apologize for the technical issues you faced regarding the room. Our assessment of the situation was that in this case a visit from our reception staff to the room would not have had an added value in helping to solve the problem.
The thing that absolutely surprised us most were your comments regarding customer interaction. Every member of our team does their best to be welcoming and friendly to all the guests, this is very important to us and something we place high value on, professionally as well as personally. As we stated before, we are genuinely surprised you experienced negative encounters with our staff. Especially because our staff did not experience these as negative at all, but as rather pleasant.
Overall, we find it extremely regrettable that you had a negative experience at our hotel. Above all, we appreciate your feedback , we take your comments to heart and we will definitely seek to improve where we can.

If you would like to discuss any of this further, you can contact the manager Dhr Kaarsgaren directly via email at jos@hotelnicolaas.nl

Kind regards,
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Sint Nicolaas on our way to an African safari and then 1 night on our return from the safari. I can't recommend the hotel highly enough. It's a 5 minute walk from the train station and is in a good location for the sites and nearby restaurants. We found the hotel charming, despite some of the hallway paintings. They have a large breakfast room and a small lounge complete with a burning fireplace where they can serve a beer or such. We found this very relaxing after walking the canals all day. Their breakfast offers everything you could possibly want. Lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, croissants, toast, cereals, ham and cheese, and on and on. The rooms are not large but more than adequate and the baths are actually spacious. I've spent longer time in much smaller accommodations in France and Italy. Our room had a laminate faux-wood floor. The beds most people would find very comfortable but not hard enough for me. The windows seemed soundproofed, but we actually slept with the window cracked and never heard a peep. The street noise disappears when the trams stop running. All in all a great spot. Helpful staff as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SH208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Hotel is well located nearby the heart of Amsterdam. Room was spacy enough, but althought it was non-smoking room, there was heavy smell of tobacco though. It did not bother me a lot. Room cleaner could have been better in dust wipe as there was some dust hanging on the wall. Tram traffic noice can be easily heard on the rooms, but you get use to it soon - or at least I did. Overall I was quite satisfied despite of these negative observations. Breakfast was ok as well, but it includes only cold elements (no bacon, scrambled eggs, porridge etc.). Well, coffee was hot ;D

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kari T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in a fantastic location. We stayed in room 12 which had the biggest and most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The room was nicely decorated, clean and no problem with outside noise. We were checked in by a polite, friendly reception staff who allowed us to leave our bags prior and after check in. They have listened to guests comments and now provide tea/coffee in the room. Free Wi-Fi in our room and a large tv.
The hotel is central to all the attractions and felt safe.
The breakfast was typical continental, but very nice and fresh and it's included in the price.
We would stay here again next time we visit Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank katpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great location, easy 10 minute walk to the station. Nice breakfast and very reasonable price for quad room. Hotel was comfortable and clean with friendly staff. Right in the centre of everything bars, cafes shops etc but felt peaceful enough.
I felt safe in this hotel which as a small group of females is important. I just wish we had tea and coffee in the room but this seems to be an english thing?!

Room Tip: Top floor is good as further from road noise! Quad was excellent value and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivnista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here in early February. We had a lot of interaction with staff during booking process and questioned the lowest price guarantee promised on the hotel website. I had found a lower price online and they could not match it although very apologetic about that so we booked through travel republic instead of directly. The difference was substantial.
The hotel is located very close to the railway station and is a short walk, the room was well appointed and reception and check in seamless.
The hotel was very quiet in the evening and no traffic noise.
Breakfast was excellent and very fresh. The coffee machine was magic. We got to breakfast early so space was not a problem. Those arriving later ie after 9 had issues but were accommodated by sitting at the bar or in another room. I note on the weekend that a hen party arrived from the UK and made a racket but encountered no noise problems during the week.
The staff were really helpful. An example was our getting back to the airport. The staff person was aware of rail disruption and printed out an itinerary for us giving us several optional train times complete with platform assignments. That made it very easy to get back out there.
I will stay there again on my next visit but not at the "lowest price" guaranteed on the website.

Room Tip: Higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymondocanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#81 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sint Nicolaas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Property: Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Address: Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sint Nicolaas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sint Nicolaas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sint Nicolaas Hotel
Sint Nicolaas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing