We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Ranked #56 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Our first trip Amsterdam we found our stay comfortable and very welcoming and value for money.
The hotel was in a great location and short walk from Centraal Station.
The hotel reception was always friendly and happy to help. Check in was quick and efficient. Wifi was a bonus.
Breakfast was continental serving coffee, teas, cereals and selection of cold meats.
Overall I would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Corrina85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sint Nicolaas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 946 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

Lovely hotel very close to the Centraal station and the old city centre. Staff were always friendly, helpful and welcoming. We did have cause to complain about the noise from the room above on our first night until the early hours, and not only did reception move us to a different room, but also said they would speak to the guests involved to avoid a repeat with subsequent guests. So, very well handled all round.

Breakfast is continental style and served in the multi function reception/bar/ breakfast area. In reality it is much better than that sounds, and actually a very relaxing atmosphere. The breakfast itself was very fresh, and unlimited, including tea & coffee.

There were a couple of minor negative points I found with this hotel. Firstly, as there are no tea & coffee facilities in the rooms this could be provided free to guests in the reception area. Coffee is only €2, but still, I think it would be a nice touch. Secondly, the bathrooms are beginning to look tired. There are some signs of a refit, but since these are exposed screw holes and cut tiles it overshadows whatever new bits have been added. Really not a big problem, and I'm being fussy for the sake of an honest review, but it's these things that make it four instead of five stars.

All said though, for proximity to the station and the centre, along with comfort, price, and friendly staff I wouldn't think twice about returning to, or recommending this hotel. In fact two years ago I reviewed hotel JL no.76 in amsterdam. It was dearer than Sint Nicolaas but perhaps a little better at pulling off a boutique hotel style. It was also further away from the centre, and the station. Taking everything into account, of the two, I'd probably choose the Sint Nicolaas.

Room Tip: If you're not used to urban noise perhaps ask for a room on the side of the hotel away from the...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Clean room, great location, and good breakfast.

We had a triple room, only disappointing was no Aircondition.

The location was really perfect, close to Central Station so was easy to find.

I really liked the decorations in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjuRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Very helpful staff with great recommendations for activities, shopping, and restaurants. You can purchase tickets for attractions at the desk. Daily breakfast from 7-10am includes fruit, toast, cold cuts of meat and cheese, hard boiled eggs, coffees and teas. We requested the largest room, which was room 26, and were not disappointed. There was plenty of space, had a double bed. & a single bed. Very comfortable. Location of hotel was very convenient and close to Amsterdam's central train station. There are also trams and buses that run by the hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank KHM1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The hotel is a refurbished town house. Staff is very friendly and rooms are decent without excess luxury. For me, the mixed emotions come down to location. On the one hand, it's in the center which makes all relevant stops accessible by foot, but on the other hand, it's next to one of the busy town streets with both bus and tram lines in the center. Also, on the other side, is the red light distric which somehow does not give a safe feeling at night and certainly doesn't make you park your car in the street.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I was in this hotel for business but it was really nice and confortable. It is near to the Cantral Station and it is a very nice hotel, for sure I will be back there in future.
The room was clean and confortable. Free Wi-Fi

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Weezer55
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,466 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#23 of 371 in Amsterdam
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#70 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,046 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#67 of 371 in Amsterdam
649 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#84 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sint Nicolaas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Address: Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $190 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sint Nicolaas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sint Nicolaas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sint Nicolaas Hotel
Sint Nicolaas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing