We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location, nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Ranked #73 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a business trip to Amsterdam

very convient location, close to the central station, and loads of resturants and bars immediately outside the hotel.

Check in was quick and efficient, staff friendly

Rooms are clean and well decorated,

Breakfast buffet is excellent

Hotel is a bit expensive, but probably par for the course in the centre of town, all round good stay in the centre of amsterdam

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ascot_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    341
    104
    28
    14
See reviews for
139
323
43
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The staff very friendly and helpful. Very good location for seeing all the sites in Amsterdam.
Rooms clean and comfortable. Would stay there again and would recommend to all. Close to
mail rail station

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldinga
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located to many of the tourist sites and the train station. The staff were very accommodating in storing our luggage as we arrived early in the day. After some site seeing, we eventually got to our room on the 3rd floor and the huge purple mirror facing us as we exited the elevator was a big surprise - that, along with all the Marilyn Monroe pictures, was at such odds with the rather dark, heavy, but cosy atmosphere of the main floor. The room overlooked the road with trams, buses, and car traffic. There were no amenities beyond the one soap container that apparently does everything and toilet tissue. When I asked for Kleenex and a face cloth, I was told there was a market around the corner for such things.
The bed was comfortable and the cold breakfast was quite good.

Room Tip: Try to book a room away from the Main Street out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pat f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bremen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

i recently stayed at the hotel while in Amsterdam. the hotel was conveniently place for a city break. close to all attractions and town centre. easy to get around from the hotel. the hotel lobby was nice, clean and cosy. the staff were friendly and polite and eager to assist. the breakfast was good actually above the standard. unfortunately the room i was given was not up to standard of a deluxe double. i had specifically gone for this hotel after seeing the rooms on the internet. i have had experience of cramped poky little attic rooms in amsterdam before. well i got the same again, small cramped two single beds pushed together with a hole in the middle sheets that didnt fit. low beams over the bed which made it impossible to sit up comfortably. only one bedside table. no tea or coffee making facilities or water.
its such a pity that this room spoiled my stay there as the rest of the hotel was fine.

i wont be going back there.

Room Tip: do not accept the poky little attic room if that is not what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
296 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel situated in a very good location. Just a short walk from Amsterdam Centraal station and a few minutes walk to Damrak, China Town, Red Light District and other sight seeing. The reception was friendly and helpful. The rooms are OK but the bathroom was a bit old. The housekeeping was late, around 3 pm, which was not the normal time of housekeeping. Breakfast was good. We are satisfied with the service and the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuteReise88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were visiting Amsterdam for a few days waiting for a cruise to begin and stayed at the Sint Nicholaas. It was just about perfect for us. I love the art deco decor of the common areas and each room is specially decorated differently due to recent remodeling. The location is wonderful in the central area of the city and you can walk to numerous attractions readily. The staff is friendly and helpful, even helping us with some necessary communication back to the states. The included-breakfast was sumptious and there was ample room for the diners. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Amsterdam!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room as we always do and it was provided with no hassle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#65 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#82 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#26 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#110 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sint Nicolaas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Property: Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Address: Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sint Nicolaas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sint Nicolaas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sint Nicolaas Hotel
Sint Nicolaas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing