We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Ranked #57 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a business trip to Amsterdam

very convient location, close to the central station, and loads of resturants and bars immediately outside the hotel.

Check in was quick and efficient, staff friendly

Rooms are clean and well decorated,

Breakfast buffet is excellent

Hotel is a bit expensive, but probably par for the course in the centre of town, all round good stay in the centre of amsterdam

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascot_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sint Nicolaas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 946 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

The staff very friendly and helpful. Very good location for seeing all the sites in Amsterdam.
Rooms clean and comfortable. Would stay there again and would recommend to all. Close to
mail rail station

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located to many of the tourist sites and the train station. The staff were very accommodating in storing our luggage as we arrived early in the day. After some site seeing, we eventually got to our room on the 3rd floor and the huge purple mirror facing us as we exited the elevator was a big surprise - that, along with all the Marilyn Monroe pictures, was at such odds with the rather dark, heavy, but cosy atmosphere of the main floor. The room overlooked the road with trams, buses, and car traffic. There were no amenities beyond the one soap container that apparently does everything and toilet tissue. When I asked for Kleenex and a face cloth, I was told there was a market around the corner for such things.
The bed was comfortable and the cold breakfast was quite good.

Room Tip: Try to book a room away from the Main Street out front.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

i recently stayed at the hotel while in Amsterdam. the hotel was conveniently place for a city break. close to all attractions and town centre. easy to get around from the hotel. the hotel lobby was nice, clean and cosy. the staff were friendly and polite and eager to assist. the breakfast was good actually above the standard. unfortunately the room i was given was not up to standard of a deluxe double. i had specifically gone for this hotel after seeing the rooms on the internet. i have had experience of cramped poky little attic rooms in amsterdam before. well i got the same again, small cramped two single beds pushed together with a hole in the middle sheets that didnt fit. low beams over the bed which made it impossible to sit up comfortably. only one bedside table. no tea or coffee making facilities or water.
its such a pity that this room spoiled my stay there as the rest of the hotel was fine.

i wont be going back there.

Room Tip: do not accept the poky little attic room if that is not what you want
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel situated in a very good location. Just a short walk from Amsterdam Centraal station and a few minutes walk to Damrak, China Town, Red Light District and other sight seeing. The reception was friendly and helpful. The rooms are OK but the bathroom was a bit old. The housekeeping was late, around 3 pm, which was not the normal time of housekeeping. Breakfast was good. We are satisfied with the service and the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuteReise88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were visiting Amsterdam for a few days waiting for a cruise to begin and stayed at the Sint Nicholaas. It was just about perfect for us. I love the art deco decor of the common areas and each room is specially decorated differently due to recent remodeling. The location is wonderful in the central area of the city and you can walk to numerous attractions readily. The staff is friendly and helpful, even helping us with some necessary communication back to the states. The included-breakfast was sumptious and there was ample room for the diners. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Amsterdam!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room as we always do and it was provided with no hassle.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,466 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#23 of 371 in Amsterdam
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#69 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,046 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#68 of 371 in Amsterdam
649 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#83 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sint Nicolaas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Address: Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $195 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sint Nicolaas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sint Nicolaas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sint Nicolaas Hotel
Sint Nicolaas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing