We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Ranked #57 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Hotel Sint Nicolaas has a favorable location with it being situated a very short walking distance from Amsterdam Central train station and very near to the main shopping area of Amsterdam. The rooms are both clean and comfortable with a decent selection of TV channels including BBC1 and National Geographic (the dutch version but all the shows still in English). The breakfast was decent with a good continental selection including croissants and fruit with a coffee machine providing decent quality coffee. Overall, for the price paid the hotel offers very good value for money and I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william_a330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sint Nicolaas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 946 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

if you have a heavy suitcase to carry around from Central Station, Sint Nicolaas is en excellent choice, just 7min from CS.
Rooms are nicely decorated, spacious. i was on the 2nd floor in room 22. The only problem i had was the noise from the street because i had to open the window as there was no air condition in the room, there was just a small fan.
Breakfast was good.
and FREE WIFI quiet fast.

Room Tip: Location Location Location
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarFeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A little research online produced this Gem very close to the main Amsterdam railway station which was important as we flew in from Copenhagen and were taking the fast airport to city train service...the Hotel was very clean and had good free wifi which worked well in the room...a MUST for today's traveler..
The breakfast while not elaborate was very well done...they even had a graph in the room suggesting that earlier is better for breakfast..
Staff were friendly and attentive and had good advice....
You can rent bicycles all over the place and it gives you an edge as there is so much to discover.
Amsterdam is a trip in itself....take the Hop on Hop off bus...take their trip into the country...visit the red light district....smell the aroma in the air..!!

Room Tip: We were too busy outside to worry about the room except to sleep.....read other reviews i this is a...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great hotel, best location near central station, good breakfast, large room, nice staff. I would say here again with my family.
Some street noise while sleeping, has elevator. Easy walking distance to all the local sights, dining, and shopping


  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Denise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We arrived by train on a very rainy day and found the hotel really close by. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were 3 to a room and although not huge the room was comfortable. There was a big post in the middle of the room but having travelled a lot in Europe we know these interesting oddities are part of the history of the building. We always ate early and found there was plenty of room. You could walk to many places of interest but if you want to save your feet buy a tram pass and get there quickly. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe you don't want a post in the middle of your room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 892Greta73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here with my friend fir a couple of nights for a gig at paradiso. The hotel was great for everything we needed. The location was great as it was a 5 minute walk to central station, all the coffee shops, and the nightlife!!! The room looked onto the main road however it wasn't noisy but note I am a heavy sleeper! The hotel had everything we needed and the staff were great too.

Room Tip: Good for a short stay
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemz1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great location 5 minutes to centre of amsterdam and train station. Good sized room and bathroom which was spotlessly clean. Continental breakfast tasty but breakfast area rather crowded. Friendly staff will go again

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,466 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#23 of 371 in Amsterdam
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#69 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,046 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#68 of 371 in Amsterdam
649 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#83 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sint Nicolaas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Address: Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $189 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sint Nicolaas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sint Nicolaas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sint Nicolaas Hotel
Sint Nicolaas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing